We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sawasdee

Sawasdee
Ranked #275 of 2,346 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Washington
Carmel, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a quick lunch and it was OK. I had the cashew chicken for $6.99. I ordered a shrimp Tom Yom soup to go. They charged me $15 for the soup. I thought boy that must be some soup, probably loaded with shrimp noodles and vegetables, a hot pot. Boy, was I wrong! When I got it home there were only a few teeny shrimp with the tails on in a watery broth with a few button mushrooms, onion and tomato. The container was not even full. What a rip off!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I am craving it now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Its a nice lunch spot, I have been here at least a half dozen times. kinda cozy, not fancy, just welcoming as if you coming into someones home. I'm not sure about the mirror wall though. The staff is usually great, the old man is my favorite, very friendly. As far as the food, it doesn't get better when it comes to thai food. These guys must take pride, cause it is deeeeeelishhh. Price is very reasonable, and service is fast. All I can say is if you like thai, or even if you have never tried, go here to eat. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank My-Honest-0pinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great food experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife, son and I have become major fans of this smail, inviting Thai restaurant. The family owned and and operated business produces consistently the best Thai food I have eaten, including my visits to Thailand. Ty, the proprietor, and his wife are ever present not only to make sure your food is good, but the experience is perfect. Try the Thai noodle soup, it's to die for! To top it off, they have a great wine selection and the prices are very reasonable. I could not recommend the place highly enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gf1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were attending a motorcoach rally in Indy and found this place on Trip Advisor. 4 of us went and found this place as good or better than other Thai restaurants we have eaten at around the country. Very authentic and loved the idea they ask how spicy you want your food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food in Indy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We've been going here for more than 5 years and it is excellent. Family owned and very friendly staff -- the owner has always come to check on us every time we have been there. The food is authentic -- if you like Thai food you will like this place. You can specify the amount of heat in all your dishes and the main course comes with soup and spring roll or you can sub in salad. I also often get carryout and take it home for the family. A great gem. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovefunexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawasdee also viewed

 

Been to Sawasdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing