We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy accident yields tremendous meal!”
Review of Fat Dan's Deli

Fat Dan's Deli
Ranked #151 of 2,375 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy accident yields tremendous meal!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

was in the area randomly when we decided to stop in at Twenty Tap for some food, only their grills were down and all they could serve was a salad. Fat Dan's is right next door and looked promising, plus we'd never been there. What a happy accident! We loved this place! We had our dog with us and they brought him a bowl of water (outside seating), which was a really nice thing that we weren't expecting. Nice selection of local craft beers, too many IPAs for my taste, but I'm sure hop heads would really love it. The food was excellent pub grub. Had tater tots (standard, meh), mini corn-dogs (good), Wake and Bake burger (amazing), Black and Blue burger (was told it was pretty good, but not really "blackened"), and a veggie burger (she loved it). We all waffled between about four of five menu items and that was before we knew there was a back side to the menu. All in all, we loved it and will return when in the area. Parking was easy, bike racks also accessible and available right at the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Grub”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Tons of homemade sandwich choices....hot and cold. Nice selection of appetizers. Usually a hearty lunch and weekend crowd, indoor and outdoor seating. Friendly staff, and efficient kitchen time. Make sure you order some homemade fries...rolled out on the table in front of you on some paper. Awesome!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndyTravelingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice place for a pleasant, laid back Sunday late lunch”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We finished a baseball game and found this place thanks to tripadvisor's near me now option. Love the open air seating and the homage paid to the Windy City. I went with the rack of ribs since they are only available on the weekends. They were very moist and meaty, even without the sauce. Hubby and son raved about the French fries and burgers. Burgers are huge!!! Easy to share one if you are not THAT hungry. Lots of fun beers to try if you are in the mood. Server was a very nice young gentleman. It's a cool joint, I'd go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank courtneymccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So, fatty fat fat”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Tater tots layered with hot sauce, cheese, more cheese and green onion? Gimmie. Now. Not only do they have craft beer (and normal beer for you non-adventerous folk), but they have traditional Chicago food, which is terrible for your heart. When I have my quadruple by-pass, I will gladly think up on the delicious sandwhiches and side dishes that I snarffed down there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rabulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Good Food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The bar deli has a garage door that enables the proprietors to open the entire front of the restaurant to side walk seating during nice weather. It is a great family stop or a place for friends to meet. While there are options if you want something besides red meat, many customers including us enjoyed one of the many specialty burgers. It was served on butcher paper and the french fry order is over sized--really over sized. Nice combination with a cold beer on a spring day. Located on a busy corner. Great choice but if you are counting calories--it may not be your best first choice. Great service and prices were within expectations. You should arrive hungry or you may end up bring some food home with you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dan's Deli also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Fat Dan's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing