We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent”
Review of Patties of Jamaica

Patties of Jamaica
Ranked #476 of 2,358 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Jamaican
Restaurant details
Bangor ME
Level Contributor
498 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

First and foremost, Patties is cheap. We each had 3 flavorful patties and the total bill came to $9.
Some things to keep in mind--the patties come in only one flavor, so ordering a patty and something else probably makes for a better meal.
Also, there are only 2 tables, so it works better to plan on a take-out meal.
The staff seemed to be very welcoming, which also enhanced the dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“surprise”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a complete surprise. My father found this restaurant. He was a frequent traveler to Jamaica in the 60s and 70s and knows authentic patties. We ordered patties to go as well as rice. AMAZING! Dad said it was as close as you can get to the real patty without eating one on the beach! Low priced heaven!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arr1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treasure find”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I where out test driving cars and run up on this place 2 years ago and now we go by as much as we can and also buy a bag frozen to make at home, we love there! The spicy beef are great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were in Indy for a conference and stopped here on our way out of town. We bought 6 hot (beef) and a dozen frozen (chicken). The other reviews have it exactly right - service was friendly, efficient, and warm, the mall itself is nothing to speak of, but the patties are heavenly! We ate 5 in the car as we drove only because my mom would have killed us had we eaten the last one before she got to taste it. They were amazing! The crust is a little flaky, a little short, and a little spicy. The filling is ground meat in a gravy, also very flavorful. We had the frozen ones the next day for lunch - the parchment paper worked beautifully, and we followed the directions and had patties that were just as good as the fresh ones we'd eaten the day before. The crust even had the same crispness! I'm so glad TripAdvisor turned us on to this place - it will be a regular stop whenever we're passing through!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful little treasure”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good. Unsuspecting strip mall holds this wonderful little treasure. The dining in area is basic and low-key. The food is fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadFood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patties of Jamaica also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Patties of Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing