We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and charming”
Review of The Canterbury Kitchen & Bar - CLOSED

The Canterbury Kitchen & Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Description: Executive Chef Tyson Peterson takes a progressive approach to reinterpret authentic modern cuisine at Spoke & Steele Restaurant. Menus draw on the revival in local farming, ranching, brewing, distilling, and oenology in the nation's heartland.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Intimate and charming”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stopped in for french pressed coffee and flourless chocolate cake late one evening. Cozy, romantic atmosphere inside a charming boutique hotel. Great service and food!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank boymom1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in 'boutique' hotel.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great restaurant in quaint boutique hotel downtown. The food here was outstanding, and, as I chose to eat in the bar, the bartender was very friendly and engaging. Very nice menu choices, I would certainly eat here again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sonofbeach57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convienent”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food and service was great.
Receive a discount while staying at the Canterbury.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank fac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cozy, Charming and Old World”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

There is no outdoor summer seating but the inside was delightful. My husband and I enjoyed a fine wine selection at reasonable glass prices and a good variety of bottles priced well. Their beer list is acceptable but not extensive. They could use a few more micro-brews. The wedge salad with pancetta instead of bacon was the right size for before dinner and the dressing was very good. The sea bass was incredible and perfectly done. My husband had the lobster bisque which was served piping hot. His "trio"of beef Wellington, cheese risotto and a crab cake was just the right size. He was able to finish all of it and has a hearty appetite. The waiter, Keith, made suggestions as needed and was spot on. Service was very attentive but it was not terribly crowded as most diners in the area were choosing dining outside. We were full and skipped dessert. I would go there again but when splurging as it is on the higher end of pricey but not excessive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb Meal and Quiet Ambiance”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My client asked for insights about where to have a working meal in Indy. Having attended numerous racing events and conventions there for years, I immediately suggested Turner's inside the Canterbury Hotel. Automotive art in an elegant setting. Meals were excellent as always. valet parking at the curb. This was Indy 500 weekend. Best meal in ages. Five men all had the highest praise for the food and service. No rushing us out at all. Elegant environment.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinbayvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canterbury Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing