We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tamales!”
Review of The Tamale Place

The Tamale Place
Ranked #11 of 2,351 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Tamales!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

First time eating tamales - absolutely delicious from a small but very popular restaurant. A must when visiting Indianapolis

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarcusSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    84
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good Tamales”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I tried The Tamales place after my girlfriend asked me to bring her lunch. The beef Tamale was good but a little dry. The home made Masa was outstanding. I also tried the steak soft taco wich was great. They homemade chips are very tasty too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericst1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tamales, tamales, tamales!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you love tamales, you'll LOVE these bad boys! They are half pound tamales! So delicious! Poblano/cheese & beef/cheese were my fav! You have to get there early cause once they run out, thats it! Homemade chips and salsa too! Yummmm!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NurIa282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic, but more important, Tasty!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I grew up in Ecuador and this is exactly how I remember tamales. Mild, spicy. Beef, pork, chicken. Red sauce, green sauce. Great variety. Variety of sides. You won't leave hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelI632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blissfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tamales”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We found this place on Tripadvisor and read through the reviews prior to stopping by. We also read the reviews on DDD's website.
We were very impressed by the size of the tamales. Each tamale is 1/2 pound. There is a good amount of meat and masa. The green sauce was excellent, and even my picky eaters loved them. We tried the pork and chicken tamales, as well as an order of their chips and cheese sauce.
If we are ever in Indy again, we will definitely stop in again.
One note for first timers, the earlier you go, the more selection of tamales. They make limited quantities for the day and once sold out they do not make additional. There is a list of what they currently have on hand and how many, on a board when you walk in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tamale Place also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to The Tamale Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing