We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, billing problems”

Eddie Merlot's Indianapolis
Reserve with OpenTable
Eddie Merlot's Indianapolis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 2,351 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Keystone Ave.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, billing problems”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I cannot think of a better prepared steak that I've had in the past year. I can recommend the Trio Medallion fillet. Reasonable price, excellently cooked. These guys have a butcher in the back!
WAY better than Capital Grille.

The atmosphere is a nice lounge/bar area with large comfy sofa seats. Everything was clean (including the bathroom) as far as I could tell. This would make an excellent date night.

While it may have just been our server, we did encounter some billing problems. The bills were mixed up but the manager did resolve it for us after calling him back. He'd give us gift certificates as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    38
    13
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“once was enough”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Steaks were cooked wrong, two times.Shrimp was off, maybe going bad. No manager ever came to the table. Ambiance is strange, prices are high food is not good. Fried green beans were good.

Helpful?
Thank Diann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good choice for a special occasion dinner in NW Indy, Carmel or Fishers!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is on 96th street and Keystone, so one of the good places for special occasion dinners if living near NW Indy, Carmel or Fishers! The Merlot Iceberg salad was good- crunchy and fresh, though I found the dressing a tinge too sweet. The cedar plank salmon was just rightly done. I am not a big fan of bbq glaze on salmons, but I did not find it overpowering. My friend had the filet mignon and loved it. She said it was better than at Fleming's at Keystone. BTW- I had chicken florentine before at this place and found it too tough and dry ( over cooked). Maybe it was their day off for the CF. The velvet cake- was OK, but not great as I had believed it was going to be. Maybe great expectations! Nice decor. Pleasant place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't wait for a special occasion to go to Eddie Merlot's!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our 2nd time enjoying dinner at Eddie Merlot's in Indy. The first was fantastic - delicious food, steaks cooked perfectly to order and very attentive service. Our second time was no different - excellent service, attentive GMs and the chef even visited our table. We enjoyed dinner with 4 adults and 2 school-aged children (6 and 9 yrs) and at no time did I worry about their behavior or keeping them busy. Even in a fine establishment like Eddie Merlot's, they are prepared for kids. Coloring pages and wait staff trained to deal with picky eaters; our server bent down to engage with each of my kids as they ordered. This was a big "+" in my book for the restaurant. Classy, well-trained and personable (not stuffy like other high end steak houses) staff made this visit worth it! The appetizers are delicious; crab cakes are mouth-watering with big succulent pieces of crab; steaks as usual are done to perfection; the side of brussel sprouts with bacon was to die for (and still yummy as leftovers!).

Go to Eddie Merlot's in Indianapolis any time you want to be treated well and enjoy a delicious meal with friends and family!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilly1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
319 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a special meal”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a great "special occasions" restaurant. The dining rooms are beautiful, the service is very professional, and the food quality is excellent.
Known for their steaks and fish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie Merlot's Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Eddie Merlot's Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing