We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal, exceptional service”
Review of Prime 47

Prime 47
Reserve with OpenTable
Prime 47 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: Prime 47...Indy's Steakhouse is Indianapolis's only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience. Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47...Indy's Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up. Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that features live music nightly.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, exceptional service”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had the pleasure of dining at Prime 47 on May 10, 2014. Presented with a customized menu with our name on it. Dined on Oysters, caprese and delicious steaks. We ordered the Delmonico ribeye with the added crab oscar. My husband enjoyed the Dry-aged KC strip.

All of the steaks were perfectly prepared, flavorful and tender.

The portions are very large and we didn't need to order appetizers. Side dishes are large and served family style.

Would highly recommend for steak lovers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    57
    16
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a great steak house. Great aged beef and five star service. The food was excellent. I recommend the Delmonico with the blue cheese herb topping. Sides are large so order to share. For appetizers try the bacon wrapped scallops, they were superb.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TPAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Quite short of great!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The appetizers were spicy, but not that good. The server was informative, but became rather annoying. The atmosphere was very noisy, making it almost impossible to converse, even though there were not very many people (Thursday night - piano playing loudly, various games on the televisions, etc.). The assistants to the server were great - they made sure we had drinks and were very attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulEugeneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service! Great Location! ”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We live just a few miles south of Indy & love to explore downtown. We bought a gift certificate at our church's silent auction last year & decided to "pull out all the stops" & splurge.
Prime 47 is a top of the line restaurant and is pretty pricey (we spent $150 including tip & taxes)
The service was outstanding - for example when my wife went to the lady's room, they replaced her napkin with a freshly folded one! Water glasses were topped of when half gone, etc.
Our waiter was personable & pleasant without being intrusive.
The shrimp cocktail was good but the shrimp was a little dry & seemed old.
We both had filet mignon and followed the advice of our waiter on how to have them prepared. The steaks were wonderful - tender yet very flavorful.
My wife ordered a baked sweet potato while I ordered the Yukon gold potatoes tossed with prosciutto, mushrooms, & onions. It was pretty salty - maybe from the prosciutto - when I mentioned it to our waiter, apologized & took them off the tab.
For desert they gave us a complementary half baked cookie with a large dollop of ice cream.
The restaurant is located just a few blocks from Bankers Life Fieldhouse and not far from the Monument Circle.
It is the former Mo's A Place for Steaks.
We did notice that just west on Maryland, a sign in a window saying Mo's isc reopening there.

Helpful?
Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, food and service.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Prime 47 is an excellent dining option if you are headed to an event at Bankers Life Fieldhouse and want an upscale, but not uptight dinner. A friend and I had a pre-concert dinner and it was excellent. The management (Chris and Lisa) and the staff (especially our server Amy) made us feel comfortable and welcome. We had the Creamy-Spicy Crab, the Caesar and Caprese salads, followed by the New York Sirloin and Ahi Tuna/Wagyu Beef Combo. Everything was delicious. I will definitely be back. Tip: Go when the piano player (John, if I recall) is there. Amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayInIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime 47 also viewed

 

Been to Prime 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing