We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Prime 47

Prime 47
Reserve with OpenTable
Prime 47 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,351 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: Prime 47...Indy's Steakhouse is Indianapolis's only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience. Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47...Indy's Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up. Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that features live music nightly.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“5th Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Mo's is by far our favorite reataurant. From the time we walked in a were greated. To the table on the 2nd floor over looking the reastaurant. To Scott, our waiter, who remember us from our visit 4 months prior. The steaks are incredible and the service is top notch!! Only place for us in Indy!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Crashdavis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    16
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mos knows steaks!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I eat out a lot around this great country and usually at better steakhouses. Mos is about as good as they come. Independantly owned, its everything the chains AREN'T: comfy, personable and really interested in each guest. The only thing that equals the atmosphere and attitude are the steaks...try the Kansas City, its the end-all, as far as I'm concerned. Mos is ALWAYS on my agenda when in Indy. Ask for Scott or Chris, they're the best of the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank zevonfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had heard good things about Mo's, after waiting 20 minutes for a reserved table, we sat 20 minutes before we were approached by a waiter. Meanwhile, the manager was fussing over table settings, and wine glasses at empty tables. after ordering, our soup/salad came quickly. We had ordered a bottle instead of glasses of wine because the initial contact with a waiter had taken so long. One of our orders was a med well filet. we specifically asked for it not to be butterflied. It came cold, overcooked, and if not butterflied, very thin. Our waiter never came to our table after our order. We left 3/4 of the filet, and it was never questioned. We will never be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First (and LAST) dinner at Mo's”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just finished our first (and last) meal at Mo's. First, the prices on their online menu definitely do not match the prices on their in-house menus. Although I anticipated paying a few hundred dollars for this meal I found this rather annoying. I let this initial annoyance slide though, because I thought that I might actually get what I paid for. We started on the right foot with the shrimp cocktail, the kung pao calamari, and the delicious bread plate and gourmet butter. Unfortunately, the meal did not keep getting better from here. When we received our steaks mine was covered in peppercorns (which I did not order), my father's filet was overcooked, and my husband's was seriously undercooked. When we sent his steak back to the kitchen they returned it without much improvement. (Half of it was charred and the other half was still very undercooked.) I was clearly irritated by this point, but no one acknowledged this (including the manager who was alerted to the fact that we were unsatisfied). To top it all off, when we paid the valet $20 and asked for $5 back (the cost of valet parking was $10) we heard him sarcastically say to the other valet, "he wants change." Seriously? We will not make the mistake of going to Mo's again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it, definitely better steakhouses to choose from in Indy”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

If you want a nice steak dinner in Indianapolis there are several places that your money could be better spent. Our server (and all of the staff) had a snotty attitude and was very pushy, and when we asked to speak to a manager one wouldn't even bother to come to the table. We were told they were "busy". The food was OK, but there are so many options in the downtown (and northside) area that I would recommend going somewhere like St. Elmo's (an Indy classic), Mortons, Ruth's Chris or Peterson's before I would suggest Mo's. It's expensive, snotty, noisey and definitley not worth the money.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyAThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime 47 also viewed

 

Been to Prime 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing