We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Buffet”

Shalimar Indian Restaurant
Ranked #572 of 2,358 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Level Contributor
245 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Buffets can often be a lot of food, none of it very good. Not the case here. The Shalimar lunch buffet is tasty food with a good variety of things to try. The Tikka Masala with a side of raita is my personal favorite, although on this last visit they also offered lamb meatballs, chicken curry, and vegetarian entrees as well. The price is very reasonable and the servers are attentive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“solid northern Indian fare”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

A small and homey restaurant in the 'heart of Broad Ripple'. Easily the best Indian in Indianapolis. Food is sensitively prepared, especially the chicken which is juicy and not dried out as is typical for other restaurants here. Dishes such as papadum and Naan are perfect. Despite being in a strip mall the interior is clean and intimate. Cliental tends towards 20 somethings, couples and young families.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank postmoderndame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I went to Shalimar for dinner. It's small and cozy, but the servers were friendly and attentive and the food was amazing! I can't wait to go back. The only complaint I have is that I ate too much :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndyMomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The best Indiana lunch buffet in Indy. Great selection with meats and veggie items. Naan and desserts also good. Service was on par for a buffet. They take away your plates and fill your drinks. They did a pretty good job for only 2 servers for the whole place. Lunch buffet was 7.99. Pretty good deal in my opinion. Only ala carte for dinner. Portions a little small but tasty.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyHawkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor service!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Mediocre Indian food and TERRIBLE service. I won't be going back!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcasey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shalimar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing