We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deliscious Ice Cream - Beware of the Malt Ball”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chocolate Cafe

Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #6 of 57 Dessert in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Deliscious Ice Cream - Beware of the Malt Ball”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

They had a good variety of icecream flavors and choice of cones or bowls. The ice cream was very good although neither of us knew a malt ball was put in the ice cream so that was a bit of a surprise when I found mine then my friend had one shortly after. They also had a good selection of coffee and chocolates that looked very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ldboomer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Monument Circle location is terrific. A wonderful place to sit and enjoy dessert on warm summer evenings. The ice cream was very good. Not inexpensive, but the portions are generous. We were surprised to find candy colored balls in the bottom of our ice cream...confusing at first, but they turned out to be a delicious surprise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hanasellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better in other cities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

SB Chocolate Company runs a few of these. You can always count on good chocolate and they are generous with samples. The Indy store seems a little run down and not well laid out. They have three counters (chocolate, drinks, and ice cream), plus a 4th for frozen yogurt. Two separate purchases will be necessary if you want ice cream and your companion wants frozen yogurt - it's around the corner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ichthusiast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“well, if you really like chocolate...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

... you're not going to be impressed. Nice vibe, good service, nice location at the circle, but....the selection and 'level' of chocolate is not at all impressive. The basics of chocolate were just OK....It not too hard to do better with *good* prepackage chocolate and very little dark chocolate as I recall and very little chocolate nut bark.

Some of the reviews were very happy with other confectionary items (frozen yogurt, cheese cake, fondue (?),etc)..which I wasnt there for. So thats the limit of this review, I realize.

But for real chocolate lovers...no way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We were in Indy for three nights and we had dessert here twice. We tried the frozen yogurt, ice cream, and cheesecake. It was all delicious. The caramel fudge cheesecake was my favorite. The staff was friendly and the location was perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdiddle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing