We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”

Kona Jack's Fish Market
Ranked #168 of 2,221 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Washington
Cross street: 96th & Meridian
Transit: Nearby Indianapolis bus top is available.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here with 5 of my family members on a Tuesday night.

Bottles of wine $32 and under were all $19.99

Sushi was very good. We had one with Tempura shrimp.

Two had clam chowder which they said was good. One had the seafood gumbo which he also said was good

2 of our party had the Ahi tuna and said it was very good. I shared the catfish dinner with my sister. Very large portion. Catfish was hand breaded,good but breading was a little salty. Roasted potatoes were excellent.
Husband does not like fish. He got chicken tenders which he said were not good. They looked like frozen tenders you could buy at the grocery

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Sandy3984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

As a solo woman traveling for work, I like the food and the ambience. I have always only sat at the bar. I've had the sushi seafood plates . I love both. The martinis are strong but well made. I look forward to coming here every time I visit Carmel.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Nakina_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Food was enjoyable, try the crab nachos, they were excellent. Had the fish and it was great. Service was excellent and our waiter Daryl or Darren, sorry can't remember which it was, was awesome. Will go back any time I am in Indianapolis.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Wolfepack65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

This is not the first time I have eaten at Kona Jacks, but because I no longer live in Indy, i only come occasionally. In general, the decor has started to feel tired. Think its time to spend some money and renovate if they want to compete with all the new hip restaurants in Indy.
The service was fantastic! I had ordered a Mojito and the server let me know they didn't us fresh mint. I appreciated this info and changed my drink order. The bread arrived overheated and stale. It was promptly replaced.

My friend and I both had the trout special which we were underwhelmed with. The fish was slightly mushy....like when I forget to press a paper towel to absorb the excess moisture before I cook my fish at home. This is inexcusable in a place that specializes in seafood. If it wasn't for this, I would probably have said it was pretty good because taste wise, it was. My couscous, while colorful with the addition of veggies, was bland while the green beans were oversalted.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 24, 2016

We ate here 2 nights in a row. Only had the seafood (of course, although meat is available). Sushi was excellent, Mahi, Ono, and Walleye are also superb. Service was good. Atmosphere with the multiple aquaria is a pleasant relief to multiple TVs.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Kona Jack's Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Kona Jack's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.