We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good after all these years... but could use a menu change”

Fujiyama Steak House of Japan
Reserve with OpenTable
Fujiyama Steak House of Japan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #420 of 2,358 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Emerson and Victory Dr
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still good after all these years... but could use a menu change”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Still good, presentation still good. Food is quaility and priced right. the only thing though, is after 20+ years of visiting this restaurant I wish they would add some more items to the menu.

Recommended choices are:
Shogun + Shrimp and a Crusty Crab Roll

Enjoy...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wockhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great Hibachi & Sushi”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My family has been going to Fujiyama for several years. We used to always sit at the hibachi grill and enjoy the show, but we've also grown accustomed to the newer dining room. We have also gone out of our comfort zones and started ordering sushi more often! The servers were so helpful and knowledgeable when we were first trying it out. I highly recommend their Play Boy Roll or and their Krusty Krab Roll. Delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hibachi restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Fujiyama for 15 years. It is a great experience. The chefs prepare the food in front of you and provide some humor and jokes for both the kids and the adults. They recently renovated inside and they no have an updated sushi bar as well as a traditional drink bar. This place is clean and kid friendly. Keep in mind you sit with 8 to a hibachi table so if you are going with a date, remember you will be sharing the table with possibly 6 other people.

Helpful?
Thank Mitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fine meal, well-presented”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found Fujiyama on OpenTable. The restaurant was uncrowded and comfortable. Note that if you are here for the "steak house" part of the menu, you'll be seated at a large cooking table with other guests. If you're not comfortable with that, you'll miss the cooked-in-front-of-you show and experience.

The food itself was excellent. The steak was tender and flavorful, the seared scallops were perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lricecsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I sat right at the sake bar, ordered my sushi, had a delightful conversation with the beautiful Chinese bartender and had a wonderful time. It is a steak house, so the noise and excitement coming from that end was pretty loud and fun! The sake selection only included one Japanese choice, the others were Korean and Californian, so know what you are ordering before you order.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiyama Steak House of Japan also viewed

 

Been to Fujiyama Steak House of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing