We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average sports bar, but”

Champps Restaurant & Bar - Downtown Indianapolis
Ranked #230 of 2,346 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above average sports bar, but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

make sure the managers know how to use the remotes to control the tv monitors! Great variety and pricing and awesome beer, liquor, wine selection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    83
    40
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
295 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I ate lunch here. Since it was very crowded inside due to the World Cup being on TV, I sat outside. The service was excellent. My server was helpful in helping me pick my lunch and was attentive to my table throughout my visit. I ordered the soft tacos (650 calories). This was a unique dish as it had a hint of lime in the tacos. I liked my food and thought the service was outstanding. I will most definitely be giving Champps another try the next time I see one!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cloaking Device”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've had some good meals and enjoyable drinks in Champps before but tis time I found myself in a wretched cloaking device - invisible, ignored, no service. Hopefully they will improve. I tried to attract the attention of the bar tender so I could order some food but she didn't seam overly interested in the Customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mattJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
496 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good place for a business drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Was staying at the Marriott on business for a conference. Had many a business drink here over the course of the week. They also hosted an event for us and did a great job. Appetizers were good and generous as well. Nice outside area to sit and enjoy as well.

Helpful?
Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Proof that not all American food makes you obese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I'll keep these reviews brief as I visited a lot of restaurants in Indianapolis and Champps Restaurant & Bar was the first. A wide menu and some excellent beers too. I chose Triton Dead Eye stout on one visit and a glass of Cabernet on the other visit. Why was it good? First, good service that was fast and reliable. Second, a wide variety of choice and quality food. I opted for fish on both occasions and wasn't disappointed. Good value for money too. There's also a Champps on Indianapolis airport and I understand it's a chain operation. Solid, reliable, inviting, comfortable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MatthewMoggridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Restaurant & Bar - Downtown Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Champps Restaurant & Bar - Downtown Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing