We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Patachou

Cafe Patachou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Long described as "a student union for adults," Cafe Patachou(R) is an award-winning Cafe. Customers can expect a world class breakfast and lunch experience that includes dishes prepared with premium ingredients from scratch and to-order, a commitment to sourcing local and often organic products, refreshingly personal yet professional service by a well trained team and Cafe environments that are vibrant and alive. Bound by these principles since opening in 1989, Cafe Patachou(R) has garnered local, regional and national accolades, including having been named one of the "Top Ten Places for Breakfast in the Country" by Bon Appetit Magazine. There are now five Cafe Patachou(R) locations serving customer favorites such as made-to-order omelettes made with Indiana farm-fresh eggs, salads, soups, sandwiches and desserts, spreading the love to Indianapolis residents and visitors alike.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Highly recommend for breakfast for a near-European experience here in Indiana. Quality ingredients. Check out the cinnamon butter toast and a wide variety of coffees. We also tried for dinner one evening but found the menu pricey and atmosphere lacking. Love Patachou for breakfast though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveCarmel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    81
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Cafe Patachou is a terrific breakfast and lunch place and somewhere you must go to if visiting Indy. The food is a little pricey, but well worth it. You must try the Tomato Artichoke soup. Try to go at off times, you can always anticipate some kind of wait, but is great for friends, a date, or time with your family and kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Enjoyed breakfast here while traveling through Indianapolis and so glad I did. The food is wonderful. They have a little coffee bar where you can walk up and get your own coffee. They have several options to choose from and your cup will never sit empty on a busy morning. I enjoyed the French Toast. This was some of the best French toast I have ever had, almost melts in your mouth. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very open so it could be a bit noisy when all the tables are full. I would highly recommend a stop here for breakfast if you are in Indianapolis or even in the Indy airport.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s246002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Food and Cool Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had breakfast here on a Sunday morning and we were impressed. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is funky and fun. I would suggest arriving before 10 am though, that's when the place seemed to get completely packed and people had to start waiting for tables. It is a bit pricey though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmulvihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, IL
Level Contributor
201 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Student Union for Adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stole this title from the menu of this excellent Indianapolis restaurant. According to our server, the breakfast side of the menu is the most popular. We ordered their homemade granola and were well pleased with our decision. The coffee is conveniently, self serve. Service was prompt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Patachou also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Cafe Patachou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing