We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food & terrible service”

Amalfi Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #601 of 2,359 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Washington
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad food & terrible service”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

While visiting Indy, friends & I expected to share a nice meal at Amalfi on a quiet Monday night.
Instead, we had a terrible experience. Even though only 4 other tables were occupied,
the poorly trained staff (I've been in the hospitality industry for 3+ decades) was absolutely clueless. Worse yet, the overpriced food was uninspired, relatively tasteless & very slow to be served. (We had to ask for bread 3 times before being accommodated, & then had to request butter or olive oil from multiple staff members.)
Once entree's were served, all staff disappeared.
After the meal, no one was offered coffee, desert or anything else.
At least their staff managed to clear the table before disappearing, again...
We were then very frustrated again, when we couldn't find anyone to bring us the bill so we could leave. After our server finally decided to show up, it came as little surprise that he disappeared with our credit cards, & returned 12-15 minutes later, with no idea of who paid for what..., and just dropped the checks & credit cards on the table to let us find our own, WITHOUT even leaving a pen so we could sign the slips !! Of course, our server didn't forget to add a 20% gratuity, which 1 of our party failed to realize until he complained on the way back to our hotel about how expensive the bad meal had been, even though he'd only left a 10% tip.
Ultimately, we got up & went to the hostess stand (which was vacant), and picked one up.
Needless to say, none of us will ever return, nor should you. Caveat emptor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    3
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
436 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“My favorite local restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been coming here for over 10 years now. Husband (from Italy) & wife owners, white tablecloth experience, great food. Quiet dining, nice wine selections. Tortellini Michaelangelo especially tasty! Have also rented their back room for private functions. Attentive staff. Just wish they were open on Sunday!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hellmbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved the family atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a large family dinner here and they completely accomodated us; typically the type of place you'd think of for a date night but family dinner was great too! The food took basically no time to prepare -- we were all shocked when it came out as quickly as it did. The calamari was perfection, my eggplant parmesean was melt-in-your-mouth delicious, the tiramisu was amazing. Our waiter John had a ton of Indy pride so we chatted sports :) No complaints!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, IL
Level Contributor
207 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This great restaurant is a bit hard to locate but very well worth the trip. (Very small sign on 86th. St.) We actually found it by accident as we were headed to another restaurant/theater across the street.
We have eaten here numerous times and have ALWAYS found the food and service to be superior. We especially enjoy the chicken stuffed pepper appetizer. Some of the older reviews said the restaurant is noisy but we have never found that to be true.
The chef does visit every table to make sure everyone is pleased with the food.
Apparently many professional people eat here as the parking lot is generally filled with BMW's and Mercedes-Benz.
If you eat here, you will be back time and again.
We give it highest marks and will return again next week!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little Italy”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Ooh la la. When we want authentic Italian - this is our place.

The chef is personal to each persons taste. The waiters know what to recommend. Every entree is a true treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Amalfi Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing