We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Oceanaire Seafood Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceanaire Seafood Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: As sleek as a 1930s ocean liner, yet as relaxed as a dinner on the shore, the Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a Sidecar in the lounge, sidle up to the oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our daily-printed menu will guide you, a wine list as deep as the sea will seduce you, and the world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Crab cakes to die for. Believe it or not, I had the Ribeye steak. One of the best steaks I have ever had!!! Service was as good as the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    125
    63
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the better restaurants where I have enjoyed a delicious dinner. The food was definitely some of the best and the service was fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanner719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner pricy, but recommend the happy hour”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The dinner are a bit on the hefty side, on my last visit we webt fir happy hour and it was great. Seating only in the bar area. Truffle & Parmesan fries, spicy fish tacos and 3 oysters, only for 17 $. Well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeemuToi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good seafood, kind of strange when it's so far from the ocean”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

To be honest, I'd probably give this place a 4. The ambiance of the restaurant is nice, the service was excellent, our server was very knowledgeable and helpful and the food was very good. The serving size was actually also very reasonable and not your typical huge oversized American serving. However, it is rather strange having seafood in Indianapolis when we are nowhere near the ocean. And it is rather pricey. I don't know if I would personally choose to go here again, not because of the good service and the food, but more about the fact that you can get fresher seafood when you are actually by the sea that you can ensure is ethically sourced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Bluefin Tuna Is an Endangered Species”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The oceanaire offers Bluefin Tuna on their menu.

The problem with that? Bluefin Tuna is an endangered species a few short years from extinction. So, what kind of a business advertises for consumption an endangered species?

A vile business, that's what kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanaire Seafood Room also viewed

 

Been to Oceanaire Seafood Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing