We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for a special lady”

St. Elmo Steak House
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 11/29
8:00 PM
Ranked #16 of 2,216 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Description: St. Elmo Steak House has been a landmark in downtown Indianapolis since 1902. It is the oldest Indianapolis steakhouse in its original location, and has earned a national reputation for its excellent steaks, seafood, chops and professional service.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

We went to this place about a week ago service was great I just knew it was going to be some BS but they were very well put together the establishment very clean and courteous the host is very friendly everyone passed you agree to you with a smile nice Ambience for business or special occasion will be back very soon

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank plumbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 3,619 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Breathtaking shrimp cocktail! Professional efficient, friendly waiters. Ribeye was cooked to perfection and very flavorful. Cream corn shared veggie was very good. Been here before and will definitely come again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank edwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we are humbled by your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Let’s just say if I go again I’m not having the steak. Wasn’t impressed at all. Staff was great and other items were pretty good. But I know a good cut of beef and they didn’t deliver.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Thank you for your feedback John. We source all of our products from the industry’s leading purveyors and work hard to maintain the highest quality product available. We will share your feedback with our Executive Chef and our beef vendor but would like to learn more about your experience.
Please reach out to me, General Manager Richard Edwards at redwards@stelmos.com so we can discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Friendliest servers. Your every need is met. And most of all the food is outstanding. No complaints st all.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Coastal529629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us and we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

This is a classic steakhouse and the steak was done perfectly. That at the bar and the bartender/server was attentive despite being extremely busy. Restaurant had a good buzz.. also enjoyed the 1933 lounge upstairs post dinner.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank njw_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Steak House also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to St. Elmo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.