We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Celebration!”

St. Elmo Steak House
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 11/29
8:00 PM
Ranked #16 of 2,216 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Description: St. Elmo Steak House has been a landmark in downtown Indianapolis since 1902. It is the oldest Indianapolis steakhouse in its original location, and has earned a national reputation for its excellent steaks, seafood, chops and professional service.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

What an outstanding evening we had as a family of 10 together at St. Elmo’s earlier this week. We were seated in an upstairs private room with Andy as our server who was just phenomenal. He catered to our every need and paid attention to every detail, including that of our 4 grandkids. We had ribeyes and steaks, the famous shrimp cocktail and of course the traditional bean soup that you can’t get anywhere else! It was truly a great way to spend and evening and birthday!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you, Phil, for taking the time to leave us your review. We are honored you chose to celebrate with us and we are so glad Andy took great care of you and your family. We hope to have you all visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 236 of 3,619 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2019 via mobile

We made our reservation months in advance for visit to Indy. We were also celebrating my brother and sister-in-law’s anniversary. The hostess sat us down in the basement. We passed an empty large table on the first floor but they claimed it was reserved. Was it reserved for another reservation made three months ago? When we asked to move tables, from the windowless basement, they didn’t even bother to accommodate us. When I paused at the top of the stairs to text my kids before going into the basement where there was no reception, a waiter got something from behind me without saying excuse me and then told me I was in the way. I thanked him for his rudeness and replied “ your welcome.” Now on to the food. If you have visited any of the great steakhouses in the country then you will find the food at St Elmo’s underwhelming. Their famous shrimp cocktail contained moderate sized shrimp and a spicy horseradish sauce. Not impressed. The filet was tender but not flavorful. The creamed spinach was so so. The chocolate pie was good. My advice, go to Tony’s.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank StaceyC463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Stacey.
We are sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet our standards. We know that you have many options when you dine in Indianapolis, and we always strive to be your first choice when it comes to choosing a steakhouse.

I would enjoy being able to speak with you in more detail about your experience, please reach out to me, General Manager Richard Edwards at redwards@stelmos.com so I can learn more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019 via mobile

This is one of those places you can count on to be the same level of quality and service with each visit. The staff is always friendly yet well-mannered, and they are well-versed in the menu and wine menu offerings.

The steaks are cooked exactly as described and the shrimp cocktail is legendary.

St. Elmo certainly stands above the upscale steakhouse chains in the area. No better place to celebrate a personal occasion or team victory.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank X2871LEnatalieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. There are countless great restaurants in Indianapolis and we are humbled by your review. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

This is the best historic steakhouse anywhere. Waiter still wear Tuxedos waitresses are rare or non existent. The service is perfect. A little pricey but worth every penny. The shrimp cocktail is classic and famous.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank indbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine with us. We also want to assure you that we have many women on our staff and we are proud to celebrate their contributions and leadership. Our team is second to none in no small part because of the exceptional women that are on it.
We are humbled by your kind words in regards to your meal and hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

We have gone twice. I cannot say which time was better. It is simply that fantastic. You need to put this on your bucket list.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank parthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabiW268, Manager at St. Elmo Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we are humbled to be considered a “must-do.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Steak House also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to St. Elmo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.