We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!”

St. Elmo Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
St. Elmo Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,358 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are looking for good food and an old-fashioned vibe, this is the place to go. They are well known for their shrimp cocktail which is delicious. Be warned that the cocktail sauce has a lot of horseradish in it but you can always scrape the sauce off if you don't like it. The lobster mac and cheese was very good. I had a bite of my boyfriend's steak and that was very good as well. Our server was very attentive. It can get a little noisy but don't let that ruin a great dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank we5luvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,781
    572
    231
    83
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's a classic....”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went once, it was good. I think one can find other places that would rate better food wise and service wise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfcm1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The "world famous" shrimp cocktail was very good but I was not impressed. It was my first visit so, perhaps I set my standards to high. The setting is fantastic and the menu is very exciting but if I can make it at my house in the ghetto of the near Eastside than I see no point. The staff was very nice and accommodating but the air of pretentiousness was palpable. Next time I'll just find a Ryan's steakhouse. They have better rolls.

Helpful?
1 Thank MClaytonCarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I don't eat at $$$$ restaurants often, but when I do....”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

You can't beat the old-fashioned downtown steakhouse atmosphere, and the steaks are very good, as is the shrimp cocktail (if you like your cocktail sauce chocked full of hot horseradish that will alleviate any sinus problems you might have). I would say there are other steak places that are a better value, but at those places you don't get the experience you get at St. Elmo's, either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lloyd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great expectations-good delivery on it!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife's boss gave her a gift card for St. Elmo and we decided to give them a try. We had never visited before. This is one of the city's high end $$$$ places to eat so our expectations were high. I must admit they delivered well. The shrimp cocktail was outstanding, super spicy, but super good as well. We both had their lobster mac & cheese which was not really to our liking, and steaks that were cooked perfectly. The steaks were large, tender, and full of great flavor. Our first experience at St. Elmo was a positive one.
The place was very loud, a little stuffy, and cost us the whole $200 gift card for the one meal but it was something to remember. I don't know if we will go back much due to the cost but they are worth a 5 star rating on their food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincetonBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Steak House also viewed

 

Been to St. Elmo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing