We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant!”

St. Elmo Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
St. Elmo Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,379 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Maryland
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Service was great. food was fantastic! Shrimp Cocktail was definately different! Very hot but the hotness goes away quickly (not like hot wings).
Very expensive but worth it! Would visit again!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,834
    587
    236
    84
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak, Amazing Service...”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I lived in Indianapolis for nine months, and decided to visit St. Elmo's during my last week in the city, before flying back to Europe. A Saturday evening, and we had no reservations, yet we were seated promptly at a cosy corner table. Rico, our server, was extremely busy with a full section, but greeted us in a matter of minutes with our menus and a wine list. The busser was efficient in keeping our waters filled and our breadbasket full. I ordered an Italian Pinot Noir, which unfortunately was out of stock, but Rico was more than helpful in suggesting another bottle which was perfect! My friend had the infamous shrimp cocktail, which lived up to his expectations, red hot! We ordered the NY Strip and the Filet Mignon, both a perfect medium rare, and were possibly the best steaks either of us have ever had! We finished with the New York Style Cheesecake, and my fellow diner is from New York, and deemed it both delicious and deserving of the title.
Our experience was memorable and I would like to thank the staff and management at St. Elmo's, and Rico, for making my last dining experience in Indianapolis, and indeed, America, an amazing one!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shrimp Cocktail - Horse Radish on FIRE!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great evening. Lucky to get reservations. Without compare, is the cocktail sauce lumped on large chilled shrimp makes a run of the mill appetizer a must have here. Made from fresh horse radish that day...it's a sinus clearer. Had the porterhouse and my wife had the rib cap steak. Both were awesome. Very upscale and esoteric wine list with a few good values sprinkled in. Great atmosphere but would not count this establishment as a quite place for a romantic meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCcruiser999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Descent food, slow service.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Three of us ate there this past weekend. Shrimp cocktail was really good and spicy as promised. Steaks were good but not great. Salads were good as well. Very loud and crowded. Standing room only in the bar, it was packed...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best steak EVER!”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have eaten many steaks at many steak houses in several states. The filet mignon was devine! Wow! The only thing I was disappointed about is that I hadn't eaten here sooner. Bravo!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabtecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Steak House also viewed

 

Been to St. Elmo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing