We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal...not great”

Bravo Kitchen Italiana
Ranked #594 of 2,347 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good meal...not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten at this restaurant in NE Indianapolis at least y times during the past 3 years when traveling here for business. It IS a comfortable and pleasant dining experience but it cannot be compared with the high-end fine italian restaurants that abound. I always order a salad or soup to start and one of their upper-end entrees. My favorite is the veal parm and the assorted ravioli offerings. The Calabrese salad is always very good and the chopped salad, while good, is a step below. I have yet to walk out after a meal there unsatisfied. But the truth is it is a little better than average in quality when comparing it against top-tier italian restaurants. Not a slam on Bravo....just an opinion

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank averagejoe846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bravo Bravo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great food, reasonable prices, good cocktails, wonderful bartenders and servers and managers! Great bar to sit and have dinner, too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Appetizer this year!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I dined at Bravo for the first time and came away with a very good dining experience. My first impression was it was not going to be good as it was a bit noisy and a little warm. We started with the crispy shrimp appetizer and wow- how wonderful and so many shrimp bathed in a vodka like sauce. The best appetizer I've had in years. I had Italian sausage tortellini and my wife had chicken pesto spaghettini. Mine was perfect and her's was a little strong on the garlic otherwise very good. We plan to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Refusmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
208 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, but NOISY AND LOUD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The food and service are excellent at this restaurant. The quality is extremely high and the folks who work there are highly motivated to do a great job. Clearly, a well managed place and they are to be commended for doing such an excellent job under severely adverse conditions. The noise, the overwhelming noise, make it a poor choice for a comfortable dining out. The restaurant has a high vaulted metal ceiling that reverberates every sound, every voice and every dropped plate into an ear shattering echo. Its so unpleasant that it makes it hard to hear the dinner conversation. Communicating with the wait staff is a challenge because its so hard to be understood. More like the din of a New York Deli, but with better food. If you like people shouting at each other, then this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Low Cal Ital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

----really liking the light menu for Bravo. This was the first time I had tried the NW side location. Service was average with the fresh bread not as warm and soft as I am used to, but the salmon and green beans, with cubed sweet potatoes were wonderful, a great value, and healthy. I admit this was at the far end of the lunch time, so this may be the reason for the bread not being as fresh as usual. Outdoor seating was very nice - area was clean, etc. I will probably return as this is one of the few chains I am a fan of. Usually both my hubby and I can find something we like here - a lot of good choices, nicely prepared.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lhabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravo Kitchen Italiana also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Bravo Kitchen Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing