We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 2,378 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Allisonville Road
Description: The Melting Pot provides a unique, upscale & intimate dining experience with its assortment of fondue cooked at the table by the guest. It is a perfect location for a romantic evening, corporate dinner party or friendly gathering. Guests can enjoy a variety of tasty entrees served with special dipping sauces. The menu also includes creamy cheese fondue, fresh salads, fine wines & mouth watering chocolate fondue desserts.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
“Always Good!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The chain has added new items that keeps the menu fresh, and we enjoyed several. We really like being offered a healthier alternative to frying in oil. The only negative was that the waiter didn't write down our order, and the cheese course was incorrect.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    51
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic and Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

For couples, there are romantic and secluded booths to sit and eat. The ambiance is dark and fairly quiet. The food is extremely good, but make sure to bring your appetite. The waiters are friendly to split courses to save money. I recommend sharing the salad, so as to have plenty of room for dessert!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logansport, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fondue it yourself and enjoy great company.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Recently my wife, sister and I went to the melting pot in indianapolis. Neither of us had ever been before but had always heard really good things about it. Overall I would say its an excellent place to go to once a year or so. The waiter we had was awesome. He spent time at the table explaining the different fondue choices from the appetizer all the way to desert and did so in great detail. It took us about 2-3 hours for the three of us to complete a four course meal that included a cheese gorganzola with bacon fondue to dip all sorts of things from apples to cauliflower; salads for each of us; a coq au vin entree fondue with steak, shrimp, chicken potstickers, portobello mushrooms, potatoes and more to dip; and finally we ended with a chocolate peanut butter fondue to dip fruit, brownies, blondies, rice crispie treats and other delectables. It was a very good time but the only thing I found wrong with it was the price is a bit high and that's the only reason I would say to go once a year or so. We will definitely go back and fully enjoyed our first experience. Cheers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kered86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, IN
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Novelty, something different”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went on a date night with my wife. Place was packed, so it pretty popular! Sat at the bar and ate our fondue meal. Kudos to the bartender who was solo, mixing drinks for servers and trying to cover meal service at the rail. We did the four course offering. The food was good and it was something unique. I thought it was a bit expensive for the food we had, and we had drinks so that's never cheap. I'm sure it isn't cheap to operate a fondue based restaurant and keep customers safe (raw meat, make sure they don't cross contaminate, etc.) Like the title says, it is a novelty. We probably won't go back for a while unless a special occasion. Would be fun with a 4-6 person group of foodie friends, again something different.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For Fondue lovers!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had our first visit to The Melting Pot last year, but I did not write a review at that time, although the experience was really enjoyable. Last week we returned and I could not forget to review the restaurant again. It was for sure a pleasant dinner with a highly professional service. We had the 4 course starting with an outstanding Cheese Fondue, then a salad followed by the Meat/Chicken/Sausage Fondue and to finalize the Chocolate Fondue. All of them were very tasteful! Also, we really like the experience to prepare the dish at our own table. The atmosphere is nice, but I think there is room for improvement. We had a table close to the kitchen this time and it was kind of noisy. However, in our first visit we got a private room, which was super romantic. If you're a Fondue lover leaving or visiting Indy, you should definitely give The Melting Pot a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allana_garcez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing