We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German Food with beer”
Review of The Rathskeller

The Rathskeller
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rathskeller is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: The Rathskeller is located in the Historic Athenaeum. We are a multi-purpose venue with dining services, World Famous Biergarten, & special events!
Dayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food with beer”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We were in Indianapolis for the Big Ten Tournament and wanted a restaurant we could walk to in downtown Indianapolis. This was a great surprise. The building is an old German Cultural center. It is quite large and architecturally interesting. The menu has multiple German staples. My daughter had the wurst platter which had bock wurst, Kielbasa and met wurst with sauerkraut. I had the Jagerschnitzel which is one of their signature dishes and was very good. This was accompanied by a potato pancake(yum) and sweet red cabbage. My wife had the Schlateplatte which was a smoked pork chop with a bock wurst. She loved it. They have a beer sampler so you can try six different German beers. Our server was very helpful. They have live music on different nights. The dessert was a large strudel which was excellent and accompanied by a scoop of ice cream. Great food and beer. Forget the calorie counter! Ok for families but also a fun place for dates.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDuo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    182
    67
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Ne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very good authentic German food. We had the Wurst plate, which was some of the best wurst I have had since being in Germany. They have a good selection of German beers which was good also! Authentic German social hall, so the inside is very old and very German. I would go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bsdunbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Germany in Indy”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

As one would hope for the Rathskeller serves German food that both looks and tastes like you would remember from visiting Germany if you have had that opportunity. The decor from the bar area to the dining areas are of heavy dark wood and furniture along with what you might expect a Rathskeller to look like a few thousand miles away. A wide range of beers and wine are there to complement any meal. Truly a very unique restaurant located in downtown Indianapolis in the 1890's Athenaeum which is a unique historical, architectural, and cultural landmark in its own right. Definitely worth a visit, or two, or three......

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomTom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A historic gem in the city”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

When I visit the Rathskeller, I always enjoy sitting outside in the biergarten! You can't beat an oversized German beer that pairs perfectly with a warm pretzel and the hottest mustard around.
If it is cold, the Kellersaal Bar is absolutely beautiful and always buzzing. Their cheese and meat plates are a great light dinner to save room for the huge beer selection. Prost!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyGal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Germany in Indy”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Delicious German food. We live to split an assorted plate of with a variety of German wursts in the bar, but only the dining room takes reservations if you need one. The Biergarten has a menu and entertainment in the summer. Fun and lively atmosphere. My hub and I love the authentic German décor and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rathskeller also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to The Rathskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing