We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great German food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rathskeller

The Rathskeller
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rathskeller is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 2,340 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always great German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Rathskeller is great Indianapolis classic. Housed in the historic Athenaeum Building, the restaurant has a wonderful old world atmosphere. The food is always good and the restaurant is convenient to theatre and the vibrant Mass Ave. area. In the summer, the beer garden is fun as well, featuring live music. The Sauerbraten is a favorite, as is the German potato salad. Tastes like what Grandma used to make!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roadcatindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    175
    63
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous German Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like German/Barvarian fare, then you will be pleased with the selection this restaurant has. The Sauerbraten was very, very tasty. They also have a nice variety of beers to go with your selections.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scubaqueen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bremen, Oh
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient to Murat Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My mom & I had lunch here prior to a holiday concert at Murat Theater. It was EXTREMELY convenient to park once, walk to Rathskeller, then to the theater. The Rathskeller is a stunning restaurant. It looks like it would be a great venue for a large event. But it suited nicely for our simple 2-person lunch. The food portions were large! My mom and I ordered our selection with intent to split, but I think we could have shared with a 3rd person. Everything was good. If I were to attend another event at Murat Theater, I would definitely return to Rathskeller (I live 2 hours away, so it would require for me to be in the neighborhood to return again).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela_45869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"A enjoyable experience"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This downtown restaurant is a great German experience. Try the Kraut and Brat balls with mustard. Had the Schnitzel and German potato salat as well as a piece of Black Forest cake. This was all very good. They have an extensive beer and wine selection. It is on the expensive side but was worth it. Try and get a parking spot on the street with a meter. If not there is parking next door for a charge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
309 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Historical Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Friends brought us here while visiting Indiana. It was nicely decorated for Christmas. This place is very large, accomodates large events. Our waitress was Melissa and she served us very well. The guys got the oxtail soup which they loved, and the ladies got the soup of the day, cream of asparagus. Very good also. I got the rouladen which I was a little disappointed in. It was so full of soft bacon, that I had to pull it out in order to eat the meat, but it was saturated in that taste, and I did not detect a pickle. Another got the jaggerschnitzel which was good. They brought us so much food that we took home doggie bags. The 32 oz German beer was $8.75, but that is almost equivilent to 3 beers, which is not too bad. Melissa noticed that we had never been there before as were we looking around and pointing in awe of this historical building. She told us about the bar area, upstair area theatre, and outside bar area for summer use. She told us some history of the building, and bar, and that they have a resident ghost. They have great old photos hanging on the walls of the restaurant/bar from way back, which shows how it has changed. When we were done eating, we looked around more closely. This was a great historical find.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rathskeller also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to The Rathskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing