We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must-See”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rathskeller

The Rathskeller
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rathskeller is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 2,344 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: The Rathskeller is located in the Historic Athenaeum. We are a multi-purpose venue with dining services, World Famous Biergarten, & special events!
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Must-See”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a private function here on a Friday night. Being from out of town, I had no idea what to expect. First tip: go easy with the mustard at first! Good but cleared out my sinuses! The food was very good and everyone seemed to love their beers. We hung out at the bar for several hours after and it was so cool. The atmosphere was unlike anything I'd seen before. Even though I'm Italian, I could appreciate all the German-ness. Again, beers were good and drinks were strong. I hear that in the warmer months they have an outdoor area that is incredible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scranton38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    177
    64
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Have to see!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The building and history amazing..the bar really cool. The dining area quaint yet full of history..
The French Onion Soup fabulous... They serve hot pretzels and bread which is good but the hot mustard is GREAT!! Brought tears to my eyes. Food portions huge! Sharing is a great idea.. Enjoy!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmr858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
609 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Das schmeckt gut.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ordered Rouladen with potato salad and sauerkraut. While the beef could have been a bit more tender, I did enjoy my meal. Several German beers on tap and good selection of other US craft beer and European beer. Great atmosphere; its what you expect from a German restaurant. There's a lot of German-American history in this building. My waitress was friendly and helpful. One can sit in a dining room or the bar area. Both have unique features/decorations that create distinct atmospheres.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“worth a visit!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

a big old restaurant with a huge dining room, bar and a biergarten with great beers on tap and delicious german food!!
can be a little expensive for some people but the place is worth a visit!
Try the sauage appetizer (this is huge - good for 3-4 people!), jaegerschnitzel and the oxtail soup
Beer samplers are the way to go to get a good feel of the offerings

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In need of a TV show restaurant rescue”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband & I were excited to try The Rathskeller in Indianapolis last weekend after reading about the history of the building and the many years that this establishment was been in business.

First, the positives:
Pass on the restaurant seating & instead seek out a seat in the biergarten or bar area for the terrific Bavarian beer hall atmosphere! Having been to Bavaria & Munich twice in last 5 years for Oktoberfest, I can attest to many authentic touches in the feel of this part of the Rathskeller. The selection of beer is great & served up with a smile. Our server was outstanding, very personable & attentive. Turns out that the beer & service was the highlight because the food is dreadful.

Next, the negatives:
In summary....the food. Where to begin? It's never a good sign when you are eating in a Rathskeller and the menu shows only about 10% of the food offerings devoted to German food. Still, we forged ahead & ordered the Ochsenschwanz Suppe (oxtail soup), Hot Wurst Platte ($15.95) -( a mixed sausage plate with kraut & red cabbage, & also the Schnitzel ($22.50) with spaetzle & potato pancake.

Prior to the food arriving, we were given a nice bread basket with a slightly stale but hot pretzel & hearty rolls served with spicy horshradish mustard.
The cup of soup was a flavorful broth & filled with lots of meat, it was the best part of the food served to us. The Hot Wurst Platte was a crazy amount of different sausages. They had tough skins, little flavor & were greasy. It would be much better to serve a smaller portion of well made fresh sausages. The kraut & red cabbage were both disappointing in flavor as well. They were not fresh.

The Schnitzel was disgusting. A huge slab of either a pre-cooked or frozen schnitzel that was warmed back up. You could visibly see the old white breading around the edges that had not taken to warming up very well. It was hard, and flavorless. Reminiscent of a frozen breaded chicken patty nuked in the mike & plated. A plastic cup of 'special lemon sauce' that contained not a drop of actual lemon juice. It tasted like a watery church reception artificial lemonade. Our server assured us that the lemons were squeezed for this each morning.....um.....no. You can take a look at the photos and see both the greasiness of the potato pancake as well as the gummy appearance of the spaetzle. Terrible in execution & flavor. For an entree priced at $22.50 I expect fresh, well prepared food.

It is such a shame to see such a lazy approach taken with the food served in this great building. Shame on the owners for not having more pride in turning out at the very least, fresh food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelifelovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rathskeller also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to The Rathskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing