We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Javier's Hacienda - CLOSED

Javier's Hacienda
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Tacoma
Transit: INDY GO Stops in front
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Me and my family went here the other day and it was great!!!! The outside is not the best but don't worry the inside is amazing. The live music was good, and the food was incredible. I got the shrimp it was so good and spicey. The food there was the best Mexican food I have ever had!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tyler t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
279 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Auhentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Absolutely most beautiful (inside-don't let the outside fool ya) Mexican Restaurant in Indy. Authentic food, fun place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ays08
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent mexican food- you won't be sorry you tried it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here for Mother's Day 2013. We were a little bit leery at first- it is located on east Washington St, in a not-so-great neighborhood- but we had a restaurant.com gift certificate so, we went.

SO glad we did!

First of all, don't let the exterior fool you. It is in a nondescript, almost dilapidated building and you have to park across the street in a sketchy parking lot. We weren't too sure about this but as soon as we got inside, it was awesome! They have it decorated like a traditional Mexican plaza with a big fountain/sculpture in the middle. The gurgling water was a nice background to our meal as we were seated right next to it.

The waitress was very attentive and appeared immediately with some chips and salsa and to take our drink order. The salsa was nothing special but the rest of the food was delicious! I ordered the flank steak and wife had a steak burrito. We did have one small hiccup in our meal when wife's steak burrito arrived as a carnitas burrito- had to send it back. But they were very quick about it and soon she was eating the correct entre. Portion sizes were very generous and I had extra to take home. Wish I could have taken the rest of my margarita with me too- ordered the tropical, size large, and it was HUGE and also very strong. Next time I'll stick with a small- but it sure was tasty.

The only thing I did not like was the enchilada that came with my carne asada- but that was because it was covered in mole sauce, which I do not generally like. If I had known beforehand I would have asked for something different- no biggie!

Price wise, it was a bit more on the expensive side: wife's burrito was $15 and my steak was $17. Large margarita was $12. Just something to be aware of.

Overall, this place was great. Probably my favorite Mexican I've found in Indy so far (and I'm a native San Diegan, so I KNOW good mexican food!). Go, and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ays08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
171 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food & Fun Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

So my first time at El Sol happened to be on Cinco de Mayo! Fun atmosphere with music and a special menu.
I had a burrito that was huge! And delicious. The experience was great fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank happymallqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a WONDERFUL dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went to El Sol tonight for dinner and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere is wonderful from the decor to the sax player. We ordered the guacamole and chips as an appetizer and I don't like avocadoes, but this guacamole was AWESOME. Our son had fajitas and said they were exceptional. My chimichanga was fantastic. Our water, Max, was very attentive and great fun to chat with. I strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves good Mexcian food. There was nothing "Tex Mex" about it. It was the real deal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's Hacienda also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing