We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Indy”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 2,354 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best in Indy”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Good food. Reasonable prices. More than adequate service, At lunch, the bento boxes are a particularly good deal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jt12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Indy's Finest Sushi!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have been going to this restaurant for over 15 years and the menu, while still very similar to years past, offers a wide variety and the finest sushi and Japanese food in the Midwest. Best item on the menu is their Soft Shell Crab roll. Other favorites are the Katsudon (breaded pork cutlet over rice) and the meat/cheese appetizer. Best to go early for dinner (before 6pm) or you will wait at least 1+ hour to get a seat/table since the place is rather small. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food being served.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My wife love it!!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm not a Japanese food love. I don't eat raw fish. But the soft shell crab that everyone raving about in tripadvisor does taste good. My main order is teriyaki fish + tempura lunch bento set. I don't really like the teriyaki fish. I think teriyaki chicken will be better.

We came before 12noon. It quickly fill up after noon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiankok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very authentic.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed visiting Sakura during the lunch hour. We ordered a lunch special and extra rolls that came with a ton of food for a very reasonable price. We are not sushi gurus, but for our tastes, the rolls were large and delicious, and many were between $4 and $8 for 6 rolls.

Helpful?
Thank JustGoTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Japanese lunches and dinners.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sakura was introduced to us by a visiting Japanese scientist over 20 years ago. He knew what to expect in good Japanese cooking. Not a fancy place, but food is great. Their chirashi is my favorite. Also other good sushi, sashimi, teriyaki, noodles, and tempura dishes. This is one of our two favorite restaurants in Indianapolis area. Often very busy in evening, so service may be bit slower then. AND, like many Asian restaurants, Sakura is not noisy, but, rather may have soft music and of course, the regular "dining noise". The staff is there to serve you, which they do well. If you want to be entertained and served mediocre food, go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryandMaryEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing