We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese lunches and dinners.”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #253 of 2,365 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cicero, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Japanese lunches and dinners.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sakura was introduced to us by a visiting Japanese scientist over 20 years ago. He knew what to expect in good Japanese cooking. Not a fancy place, but food is great. Their chirashi is my favorite. Also other good sushi, sashimi, teriyaki, noodles, and tempura dishes. This is one of our two favorite restaurants in Indianapolis area. Often very busy in evening, so service may be bit slower then. AND, like many Asian restaurants, Sakura is not noisy, but, rather may have soft music and of course, the regular "dining noise". The staff is there to serve you, which they do well. If you want to be entertained and served mediocre food, go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryandMaryEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It wasn't pleasant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting so much better from this restaurant based on other people's reviews. I was unpleasantly surprised by the poor service and atmosphere. The food was good, however I was expecting a more hibachi-style menu, which was my mistake. I will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlidebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sushi & Tempura”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Family and grandparents (6 total) had a very nice early dinner on a Saturday night. ALthough it was quite busy and our Sushi and main dishes took 20 minutes to get to the table, the wait staff was very attentive.
The Sushi and Nigiri was top notch as always. Three of our party had Japanese dinners: Seafood Terriaki & Shrimp Tempurea- both excellent, and the Fried chicken cutlets - good.
This is our favorite Sushi place among many very good ones in the area (Broad Ripple).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Sakura is the best for sushi! You wouldn't know it by the small old building, but inside, the food is awesome! You have to be patient though because there is always a wait to get food. This time it took about 50 minutes to get sushi. Normally about that long - even if calling in a to go order. Well worth the wait. We made reservations to eat in - which was a good move because they were pretty full and steady. Service is okay.

Helpful?
Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food Poor Service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I LOVE Sakura the food is always great but the service stunk. It took over 15 minutes to ut our drink order in because the waitresses were no where to be seen. We placed our order and our waitress was unfriendly and cold.She never cleared our salad plates from the table and we were left to stacking our dishes. Our drinks were never refilled and I had to hunt someone down to get more green tea. My daughter ordered dumplings and the waitress assumed she wanted fried dumplings not steamed ones. She never clearified or asked. When we told her about it she said she could not take the food back and we were stuck with the order. The food was their usual wow, but I left feeling like I was bothering the staff. Not an incentive to go back! :-(

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zvillemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing