We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent new restaurant by The Fieldhouse”
Review of Cerulean

Cerulean
Reserve with OpenTable
Cerulean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 2,351 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South St.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
624 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant by The Fieldhouse”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the adjacent Alexander Hotel last night and had dinner here with a work colleague. We dined at the bar (which I often prefer) and had a wonderful meal. They feature Indiana farms for meats and produce, and the dishes were very well-made, well-portioned, and balanced in flavor. You can easily choose one plate each from the 3 sections (bites, small plates and large plates) without going overboard. They even roast their own coffee!

The cocktails are pretty cool, but the wine list is great. They divide it between "new world" and "old world" and have many excellent selections from each (we had a great Priorat red from Spain).

Service was warm and professional, and not intrusive...always a plus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    43
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss this GAYOT award winner!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I dine out often. I do enjoy an adventurous experience. Cerulean does not disappoint. Lunch or dinner you will be well taken care of. At lunch I recommend the sun fish or the pot roast. The brussel sprouts are the best in the city. A new spring dinner menu recently launched and I have much exploring to do!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaM695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Innovative and Local”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cerulean is a new modern restaurant in a new modern hotel focusing on some innovative treatments of Indian produce.

The menu is structured in small dishes (some not very suitable for sharing, such as a single shrimp), medium and large, with the serving sizes making it probable that you can happily order one dish from each section along with a dessert and not be overfed/needing a box.

We found the staff knowledgeable about the dishes, including where they were sourced from, and helpful.

From the small dishes I ordered the cauliflower frites which were pleasant but not spectacular. Others at the table had the pickled shrimp (very positive), chickea fritter (a reasonable falafel) and corn macaroon which came highly recommended but didn't impress the eater.

Meduim: I had the scallops which were alright, but had recently had much better at Bluebeards so was a little disappointed. The snap pea puree didnt seem to add anything to the dish other than color. The other had the white aspargus soup (positive), the gnocchi (not impressed - gnocchi is famously difficult for anyone to get right and deserves to be tried wherever it is attempted as the payoff for finding someone who gets it right can be enormous) and the Indiana cheese platter which was impressive in terms of cheese (especially the blue) although of the accompanying house preserves the orange was overly sweet and lacking any tart counterbalance and it would have been nice to have had an option of plain rather than fried bread to accompany.

Large dishes: I ordered the pork porterhouse and it was a standout. If you enjoy a nice thick steak then this is the pork for you, with great flavor and juiciness. Everyone at the table enjoyed it. The duck breast was also very good without the gaminess and oiliness often encountered in this meat. Two at the table ordered the striped bass and it was perfectly fine but somewhat unadventurous and dull compared to the other dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Indytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Must, Must, Must have the corn macaron. You will yearn for them forever after. The pork porterhouse could make one forget all about beef. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank granmary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
202 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A Culinary Experience!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a group of 6 for dinner while in Indy for a conference and made reservations several weeks in advance. The décor was clean and trendy – but welcoming, not cold. The menu features all locally sourced foods and is structured so that you enjoy a 4 course meal (although each item is individually priced) – each course has approximately 6 different options to chose from to suit any palate – vegetarian, bison, duck, pork, rabbit, scallops, etc… The waitstaff was great, always there when we needed them but not hovering, and extremely knowledgeable about the food and it’s preparation.

The menu changes seasonally, so what I write about here may not be what is on the menu when you arrive. To start, the rabbit rillets on kale were both visually beautiful and delicious. If you like pate, the bison pate was lovely and served with brioche bread – although I preferred the hearty bread served for the whole table. The main course duck was succulent and served on a bed of noodles with a lovely creamy sauce, and topped with the crispy duck skin. The chocolate and citrus dessert was worth the price of admission alone. Thick creamy chocolate plated with citrus pieces and green tea foam. Foam? Yes, and it was delicious. Each dish not overwhelming in size – therefore making 4 courses very doable without over indulging, and was visually interesting – the San Francisco foodie in our group took pictures of each course.

This is not a cheap dinner but a good value for your money - with about 2 drinks each, dinner with tip ran about $100pp. I can say I was delightfully surprised to find a culinary experience on par with NY, Chicago, or San Francisco in the heart of Indianapolis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerulean also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Cerulean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing