We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed at in Indianapolis. Very accommodating & attentive.clean and modern,great food & liquor selections...took my girl here for a weekend getaway & she loved the place...also the valet is very nice as well. All around great experience

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcfleming773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Jcfleming773,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an online review of The Alexander. I am so glad to hear that you and your guest enjoyed the hotel, food, and overall service. We certainly hope to see you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    347
    145
    50
    34
See reviews for
310
502
41
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Alexander, I thought was going to trump the J.W. Marriott and other hotels in Indy, but sadly, it wasn't special enough.

The positive is decor. It feels like an art gallery.

The issue is you have to go up the stairs or wait for ONE elevator to go to the lobby. People want to check in fast.

Other major issue was the overall staff attitude. Lisa in the Marketplace dining was the best, but others were not. Amber in front desk was very good. Very professional, cared about the customer.

Rooms were very spacious, clean, but the cleaning lady didn't clean the bathroom very good.

The drawers were dusty and dirty, and my clothes had to be cleaned again when I got home.

With so many options in Indy, I'll pass on the Alexander. Sadly, I didn't feel the quality and service that other hotels provided in the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Daniel C.,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. I do sincerely apologize that the cleaning was not up to par and that the overall service was not satisfactory for you. I appreciate you mentioning two of our great staff members, Amber and Lisa. I have passed along your comments to them personally. I would love to talk to you about your experience, for I can assure you this is not typical of our service. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience via phone or email.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My stay at the Alexander as a great experience! I have never had such a great experience at a hotel. I highly recommend the Plat 99 bar. I was in town for a gaming convention and stopped in for a drink almost every night. Ask for Justin or Scott.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Chris K.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is so great to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Plat 99 is a great place to hang out each and every night, especially with this fall weather we have coming up. The atmosphere with firepits on the deck and the irresistable concoctions that our mixologists create, perfect night out! Thanks again and we do hope to have you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you've ever wanted to share an overnight with friends in an art gallery, and be able to get artisan cocktails while lounging on a comfy sofa and sketching at the same time, this is the place. Huge rooms, amazing food, great drinks, and the nicest staff. The water and coffee service in the lobby made our stay several times as well. When you walk up out of the heat with sore feet and they have Strawberry Vanilla water waiting for you, the day just turns around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Ruth L.,

"Coolest hotel in Indy!" We will certainly take that! Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about the atmosphere and artisan waters provided. You painted a great mental picture with your review, and we always enjoy when people can take advantage of our inspiring, art laden environment. We do hope to see you again, sketching in our living room with a great cocktail designed just for you.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My friends and I booked a room at the Alexander while attending Gencon 2014. We wanted a hotel that was close enough to the convention centre but far enough away to allow us to escape the crowds. The Alexander delivered top notch service on all fronts - the staff were friendly and helpful, the common areas stylishly decorated and comfortable and the rooms well appointed and quiet.

We did have problems with the hotel wifi but weren't in our room enough to take it up with the hotel so it is possible that our problems were isolated ones. Bathroom in our room didn't really have any place to hang towels so tossing them on the floor was basically our only option. Breakfast in the Market Table was tasty if simple, and with the addition of a buy one get one coupon from the front desk was very reasonably priced with the very thoughtful option of a coffee to go provided as you leave.

The hotel certainly went out of their way to serve Gencon attendees, setting aside a gaming room for the duration of the convention and pouring the convention official beer 'Froth of Khan' in the Plat 99 lobby bar. The bar also features a balcony with fire features making for a comfortable place to relax albiet one without much of a view.

We would absolutely stay at the Alexander again, it is a reasonably expensive hotel when compared to my usual choices, but with inflated conference hotel rates across the city the extra money did translate to extra service and an excellent experience.

Room Tip: It seems that the wifi drops off the further from the elevator you go - we saw guests crouching in t...
See more room tips
Green Features: No towel bar in our bathroom meant we had to discard towels on the floor and not re-use them - it's nice to have the choice to be green.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekkridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
ekkridon,

It was certainly our pleasure to be your hosted hotel for GenCon 2014. We do always love when this convention comes around. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the extra touches we provided for our guests. I will pass along your comments about the wifi to our IT technician to ensure that we are not having any failures. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, as our wireless network is typically very fast. Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander as you home away from home during the convention, and we would love to have you back again next year.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Alexander was a very comfortable hotel. The rooms were nice, common areas well decorated and comfortably appointed and all the staff we dealt with were friendly and service oriented. We were in town for Gencon 2014 and wanted a hotel that would be a refuge from the crowds and slightly away from the conference center. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were reasonably priced with the addition of a BOGO coupon from the front desk and the hotel provided a gaming room as many of the guests were also in town for Gencon.

The art in the hotel is beautiful and the furniture modern and clean. Fireplaces on the Plat 99 balcony, while not offering much of a view is a comfortable place to relax after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Paul M.,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a great 5 star review! We are always so happy when the GenCon convention comes into town. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our special offers for the Market Table breakfast and the gaming room. Hopefully we can be your "refuge" again next year with our relaxing environment.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here during B1G basketball tournament. Get access to BankersLife and downtown spots. The staff is top notch and attentive to our every need. I highly recommend staying here if you need a place while in downtown Indy.

Room Tip: For more room, ask for corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Kevin H.,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a 5 star review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you had a great time at the hotel while attending the basketball tournament. Hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#8 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing