We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Indeed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweet Indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a fabulous overnight stay at this hotel. Location (specifically with close proximity to Fountain Square and Banker's Life Fieldhouse), great room with amenities, artfully decorated throughout (with Tyler explaining the hidden Hoosier connections), added to the stay. Also, Tyler our Guest Services Supervisor, along with staff, made this a memorable visit. Cerulean restaurant next door delicious. Bike rentals nearby would add to this experience. We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a city view for evening lights.
See more room tips
Green Features: Smart conservation of electricity with key of room.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
JeeriB,

Thank you so much for visiting us here at The Alexander in City Way. I am so happy to hear that Tyler and the rest of the staff made a great impression on your stay. Our emphasis on Indiana's history is seen throughout the art and design of the hotel, so thank you for taking the time to appreciate our efforts. Thank you also for your suggestion of the bikes. We do have bikes for our guests to use as a complimentary service. We may have had them being repaired during your stay and for that, I apologize. Also, starting April 22nd, there will be bikes for use along the cultural trail as part of Indy's new Bike Sharing Program. Our closest location is right by Banker's Fieldhouse. Please let us know next time you are looking to book and we would be happy to help you with this service.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    406
    177
    57
    37
See reviews for
362
596
51
855
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The aesthetics of this hotel proved to be all that the reviews promised...modern, eclectic, hip, elegant. The service, which many reviewers commented was excellent and outstanding, was simply adequate during our recent brief visit.
The rates are comparable to most of the other downtown hotels but this hotel is so different and refreshing. The rooms were very clean, spacious, relaxing. Furnishings and fixtures are modern and attractive. The mattress was not as comfortable as some I have experienced in our travels but would be right on for someone who likes a firmer bed. We didn't check out the restaurant or room service but they had interesting choices, although the food was overpriced as per usual with room service menus. We did stop in Plat 99 for a drink in the afternoon; service was good and the decor and views of downtown are amazing but weren't impressed with a visit later in the evening.
Overall, we were very impressed with this hotel. Liked the location...in an area of downtown that is convenient to get to everything but not right in the thick of the touristy blocks. Indianapolis is quite ghetto but this hotel was nothing but classy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraWeekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
ClaraWeekly,

Thank you for visiting us here at The Alexander. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and modern design. I would be happy to speak with you further about your comments in regards to service and Plat 99 experience. I can assure you this is not typical of our staff and would love to get more details so we can improve for the future. Please feel free to contact me with info below.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location is great, walking distance to Lucas Oil and Bankers Life.. Hotel was very modern and upscale and personel were very friendly. We had a two bedroom suite. Sofa in Living room had a memory foam matress. We didn't use it but it would have been a huge improvement over the ones with metal bars hitting you in the back.

The oly down side was the breakfast buffet was pricey at $16.00.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Tom B.,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the two bedroom suite that you booked. Those rooms are great for families or extended living. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Love, love this place! Modern, beautiful, great art including the most amazing mural piece of Madame C.J. Walker, first African American female millionaire. Must see to believe it. So much to see, creative and quality food.. This place is a high caliber travel experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jjonesschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
jjonesschenck,

We appreciate you choosing The Alexander for your visit to Indianapolis. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the artwork and modern design of the hotel. The Madame C.J. Walker piece is one of my favorites as well. It is was made with 3,840 unbreakable combs! A must see if you are in the area. Thank you so much for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My stay was outstanding from the welcome at the door to goodbye at Checkout. Lovely accommodations and the Market restaurant varies their buffet lunch and breakfast each day for just a treat to anticipate. The decor is very contemporary with beautiful art and funky furniture in public areas. I was there for a conference and the break treats were just so fun to look forward to each day. Hoping to stay here again on my next trip to Indianpolis!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Jan A.,

Thank you so much for your raving 5 star review on TripAdvisor! Love seeing things that start with a "Wow". It was so great to read that you were welcomed from the moment you walked in the door until the engaging goodbye at the end of your stay. Thanks you also for visiting Market Table. We do offer a variety of selections and the brunch on Sundays is fantastic! We certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Indy.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nice hotel within site distance of Lukas Oil Field. We were there for the sweet 16 weekend. In fact the Tennessee team stayed there with us. Hotel was nice, rooms big, service and restaurants and bar in lobby were excellent. The only complaint I had was the dust on the rack under the bathroom sink had not been dusted for long enough I was able to draw a smiley face in it. Hope someone sees it and decides to wipe them clean. Didn't seem the cleaner cared since they had to stock towels on that self everyday.
All in all nice hotel with good parking close to all downtown attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no1subman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
no1subman,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for your trip to the Sweet 16! What a fun time to be in downtown Indy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. I do apologize for the error in our cleaning service, and I can assure you this is not typical of our housekeeping staff. I have informed the Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is a focus of ours going forward. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, feel free to contact me directly for your next booking.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We live in Indianapolis and love the Alexander... Visited Plat 99 and Cerulean and decided to come into Indy for a Staycation... The artwork is so awesome, cool energy and vibe and staff is awesome. The rooms are perfect and a very well thought out hotel, all the way down to the fragrance pumped into the lobby! Love the twist on all things local in this hotel!! Well done!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Breena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Breena Y.,

Well hello fellow Indy local! Thank you for choosing The Alexander for your "staycation". It is always fun to enjoy a new location in your own city. It was great to read that you enjoyed the vibe and energy of the hotel. We do have a lot of local flare in our hotel, from the names of our meeting rooms, to the local snacks and products that we use throughout the property. Thank you for recognizing and appreciating what we are striving for. Whether you are enjoying a cocktail in Plat 99 or dinner at Cerulean, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing