We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Modern and Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Clean, Modern and Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Jess and Hampton (front desk) went out of their way to accommodate my husband, mother-in-law and I. We originally booked through Expedia and there were multiple issues, Jess and Hampton helped out so much with getting our reservations straight and getting us into a room as soon as possible. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and modern aesthetic, the food at the restaurant is scrumptious and no details were left out. The rooms are just as nice as the front entrance! Shell Chair by Hans Wegner throughout the hotel and in every room and the fold out couch even had a tempur-pedic mattress on it! We have already shared our great experience with family and friends, thank you all so much!

Room Tip: The suite was a perfect blend of family and individual space, spacious private rooms and bathrooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Haley S.,

What a great review! Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad that Hampton and Jess made such a great impression on your experience and handled your reservation requests promptly. Sounds like you stayed in one of our Two Bedroom Suites with the full living room and kitchen. Those rooms are great for families and entertaining. I'm glad that you also enjoyed the food and decor throughout the property. Hope to have you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    428
    181
    60
    39
See reviews for
380
617
52
891
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently spent a night at the Alexander and it was excellent! We were there to take our kids to the art museum and the children's museum. We didn't eat anything in the hotel so I can't speak to that, but the front desk staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable, modern and clean.

We would definitely go back and I have already recommended the hotel to all my friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagophotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Chicagophotog,

Thank you for choosing The Alexander! I'm so glad you were able to come to Indy and catch the Children's museum and art museum. The children's museum is great for all ages, and we are actually partnered with the Indianapolis Museum of Art. The decor you see around the hotel was commissioned for us through the IMA. Hopefully next time you can take in some of the dining as well. Thank you for your promotion and we look forward to having you back!

Stay Warm,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a new hotel. Art is the theme and many site specific pieces are on display. The vibe is young, artsy and visual. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The chef/kitchen staff for the restaurants is top notch - creative, artistic and excellent. The Alexander is a very visual experience and I enjoyed and appreciated that. I felt good staying at this hotel and highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
10950,

It was so great to read your 5 star review of The Alexander. "New, Fresh, and exciting" is certainly what we are going for. Thank you for highlighting our chef and kitchen staff for their unique and creative take on our dining experience. Our staff is excited to continue to improve on our service and cuisine in 2014! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Stay Warm,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very attentive staff and interesting decor. The art throughout the property is different and a nice addition to the hotel. Mixology drinks in the bar were delicious and fairly priced. I would recommend this to couples looking for a weekend away or business travelers looking for something different (I was here for a night away with my hunny, but am a frequent business traveler).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Jess4774,

Thank you for staying with us here at The Alexander. I was so happy to read your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the delicious cocktails that we have to offer at Plat 99 with your guest. If you travel again for business or pleasure, we certainly hope you think of us again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was second stay at this property (see previous review), and the service was Superb! Was in town for a business meeting, of which some of the meeting was held at this property. The front desk staff was very attentive and the most Helpful & Friendliest I've encountered in the industry!! The food was amazing, rooms were clean, and the beds/linens where SO comfortable!!!! It's all about service at this property and their staff are 5 stars!! This is a fabulous property with lots of beautiful art (some available for purchase) and amazing place for business travelers! It a short walk to the Circle Center mall/ downtown area and Lilly offices.

Would Highly recommend this property and look forward to staying here the next time in the area!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexiaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Alexiaann,

Wow! Thank you so much for your raving 5 Star review about our staff and service. Our associates truly strive to create memorable experiences for our guests and it is reviews like this that keep us energized and motivated. I am also glad to see you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the inspiring artwork throughout the property. Thank you for being a loyal customer and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nice clean rooms decorated with modern decor. Request room facing the Eli Lilly parking lot - very quiet as opposed to the other side of the building.
Free breakfast was a nice touch. Location is good. The thing preventing it from being 5 stars was a little lack of character, ESP. In the rooms. Furniture leans toward the ikea in quality and room is a bit spare. Otherwise an excellent business hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigLeagueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
BigLeagueC,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the cleanliness and general ambiance of the hotel. We are very close to many local businesses in the downtown area and also provide transportation during the morning hours to many downtown businesses. I do see that you prefer the side of the hotel facing south, we can certainly add that as a note to your reservations for the future so you do not have to request this everytime. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other questions or would like to make that request. We hope to see you again soon for your next business trip.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I were gifted with a one night hotel stay by my office, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience at The Alexander. We're from Indy, so staying in a hotel in our own city was a splurge, but we thoroughly enjoyed The Alexander. We arrived in the afternoon and left early in the morning, but were able to enjoy all aspects of the hotel and the surrounding areas.

As far as hotels in Indianapolis go, The Alexander is in its own category. The artwork, design and amenities are well considered, artfully created and very contemporary. We loved simply walking around the hotel, and it's in a great location to walk around destinations in downtown Indianapolis, as well. The manager handled our check-in and gave us complimentary beverages in their bar, Plat 99, and we were treated so well during our entire stay.

Plat 99 is the main attraction of the social space of the hotel, offering beautiful surroundings, awesome beverages and small plate meals. The staff is friendly and knowledgable and it's unlike any other bar in Indy.

The rooms aren't huge, but the bed and furnishings were comfortable, clean, and the room was well appointed. Because the hotel is one of the first projects in this area, there isn't much of a view, and there aren't many people out walking around, but the entire experience was really nice and something we wouldn't have done had it not been a gift. I'd highly recommend The Alexander for your upcoming trip—it's a wonderful destination and I'm hoping we can have a visit there again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room, it'll be quieter, and ask about one of the rooms that faces Delawar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danebenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
danebenton,

It was great to read your review on Trip Advisor. It is fun to stay in your own city every now and then, especially at a new location. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your gift and spend some time with us here at The Alexander. Thank you so much for your great comments about the artwork, room decor, and friendly staff. Our hotel is one of the first projects within the City Way area which is still continuing to grow. We are looking forward to more retail and restuarants that will be adding to our great location in 2014. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again for another night or some drinks and small plates in Plat 99.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing