We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This recently opened hotel provided a great stay with all the modern requirements of a frequent traveler. The restaurant was fantastic, gym was very adequate for a hotel workout, room was clean/modern, and location was convenient to the important areas of downtown. The hotel also maintains great art throughout and the conference facilities appeared very functional.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank ChiCoconutGrove_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you ChiCoconutGrove_FL,

It was so great to read your 5 Star Review of The Alexander! We appreciate your comments about our hotel and artwork. You covered all the bases: clean, convenient, modern and fantastic! It is reviews like this that allow us to continue to impress our community with our recently opened hotel. Hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,706 - 2,712 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

the Alexander is a beautiful hotel, and the rooms are great, and it's clean. The reason for three stars is because they are not ready for prime time in a few small areas. First good stuff. You will love the look and the room, and if that is all you need. You win! Fitness center is really nice, although the TV's only get three HBOS and a local channel, why not all the channels?

Everybody is nice, but really don't do much but say sorry if there is a problem. The valet left a half empty can of coke in the car, and it was a bit sticky. (I haven't had a coke in fifteen years) How long did they hang out in my car. The head valet guy just said, "Gee, sorry" and asked around to who did it, and when they all said no, he did nothing. Sticky inside of car, and did they use my car to take a quick trip around town or hang out to listen to music?

Second there is literally nothing to eat in the hotel in the afternoon except a 45 minute wait for room service. All restaurants closed! No snacks even, except 7 dollar pretzels in room. Tough when you have only an hour, but we hadn't eaten, so we ordered rooms service. A free range gourmet hamburger, and signature brie, grilled cheese. A salad and sweet potato fries. I was told 30 to 40 minutes and at 45 called back to hear it was on it's way. Which is not a problem unless the reason the food is late is because no one was delivering not because it was not done cooking. Have you ever eaten food you know would be amazing if it was HOT? It tasted okay, and we had no choice, no time, but congealed cheese and luck warm hamburger. A little scary. But again it was edible, and even if we had time, what do you think would have been in the food if we asked for it to be remade? Plus, room service not so cheap, and we could tell it had been sitting for a while before it got to us.

Nice folks and I am sure if we had started yelling we would have gotten something, but is that the place when they know there are problems? Or is it to walk out and go, "Whew, they didn't mention it, bullet dodged." Not if you are saying your are this upscale.

Anyway, stay there, it's fine, but look for the little touches.
Oh and the market brunch, eh?
Except the Omelet guy. He was amazing! I have so much respect for that.

By the way, the staff is very welcoming and warm and nice, but seem to have little to say if something goes wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Llessat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Llessat,

Thank you so much for sharing the details of your stay with us, although I am disappointed in the inconsistencies you experienced, especially with our valet service. I do apologize for the quality of food that you received with your room service order as well. I can assure you this is not typical of The Alexander. The City Way neighborhood is still growing and more dining options are on the way.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the omelet station in Market Table. Our staff is dedicated to providing a unique and welcoming experience, so I do appreciate your positive comments about the staff. Please feel free to contact me directly at 317-624-8224 to discuss your stay further. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My friends and I were very impressed by the hotel, the car valet, and the front desk staff. We were staying at the Alexander to run in the 500 Festival Mini Marathon. The attention that was paid to the participants was outstanding. Wishes of luck from all, later checkout after the race and post race greeting with water and fruit. Comfortable room and great shower.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Terri3579,

Congratulations again on participating in the Indianapolis Mini Marathon. We were so happy to provide the water and fresh fruit for you and our many guests in the hotel. Thank you for your 5 Star review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again next year! Our staff greatly appreciates your comments.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very impressed from the start. The valet was very welcoming. Fabulous artwork. Hotel is upscale without being stuffy. Food was wonderful. Staff willing to accommodate anything. Lots of places to lounge. Cool bar. Downside- no pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

bethwoodward,

We certainly appreciate your great comments about our hotel and service. We are very proud of our valet staff and the exceptional service they provide to welcome our guests to the hotel. As a partner with the IMA, we are glad that you enjoyed the artwork as well. We have an unprecedented 13 new works of art that have been commissioned for our public spaces by nationally and internationally renowned artists.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We loved this hotel. It's close to the arena, stadium and a bunch of great restaurants and bars. Plat 99 had great food and really creative drinks. We will definitely stay any time we are in Indy. The amenities were great from the fitness center to the breakfast, we loved it. Also enjoyed all of the unique art.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douggrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Douggrady,

Thank you for your great 5 star review of The Alexander! We are very proud of our unique hotel. Plat 99 has great drinks designed by our manager and mixologist, Michael Gray. We are glad you were able to stop by and enjoy the atmosphere. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great upscale hotel. Large, very clean, modern, and the rooms are very comfortable. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Very nice bar. Good buffet breakfast and cook to order omelets. Only downside was that our room was right next to the elevator. Late night party goers can be noisy and this place looks like it hosts lots of conferences and receptions.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

DeQi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Alexander on Trip Advisor. We will share your comments with our staff members. The Market Table breakfast is a great addition to our hotel. You can get any type of egg or omelette made to order right in front of you!

I do apologize about the noise you experienced near the elevator. In the future, we can always ensure your room is further down the hall. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any further questions or comments. We look forward to seeing you back for a future visit.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a weekend getaway. This spacious hotel offers clean, modern and roomy accomodations but you'll pay a premimum. However, I felt the money was well spent and my modest gesture to downtown development. The room had modern media connectors like wi-fi, HDMI, etc, Ipod/Iphone dock and etc. There was a nice desk, lounge chair and footstool. The bathroom was roomy but the shower pressue was low. There were just enough towels and robes. The valet service is nearly $30 dollars but I had no worries about my vehicle's safety. There's a nice bar and lounge on the main level. There you'll find artful drinks and food. The only part I didn't feel I got my money's worth was the room service breakfast of eggwhite omelet and veggie quiche. The omelet had tired spinach and was bland overall. The quiche was not freshly made. However, the red potatoes were made with care. No English muffin as I ordered and no explanation and no prior approval asked from me about the substitute which I think were frozen bagels thawed in hurried fashion -- yuck. Still, overall we enjoyed the modern atmosphere and relatively friendly service. We also enjoyed walking to eateries and bars downtown. This place could make it and distinguish itself by doing a few things, but doing them exceptional well. For example, I think they may have overreached on the multiple item in-room dining menu. There's also snack items in the room but at a charge. Just provide a few snacks and for free. You'll get your $5.25 back and more in the stories people will have about the feebies. In summary, the Alexander is off to a good start just find your stride.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuraiSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Samurai Sandels,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We do apologize for the experience you had with In Room Dining. I can assure you this is not typical and I have passed along your comments to ensure we resolve any opportunities we have.

We are glad that you enjoyed the modern atmosphere and room decor. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,445 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,475 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#9 of 185 in Indianapolis
352 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $163 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing