We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Hotel in Indianapolis...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel in Indianapolis...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I went here for Business Trip..The staff were the friendlist and most helpful people we ever experienced..Cleanliness, hospitality and service are of the highest concern here and it shows..Also delicious breakfast... Wonderful location.. Big Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NesliIstanbul_Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Neslilstanbul,

Your Welcome! It is always a pleasure to read such glowing reviews about the hotel and our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    266
    119
    39
    26
See reviews for
237
389
38
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This will be the only hotel we stay at in Indy
from now on bc it is absolutely perfect !!!!

It is beautifully decorated , the beds are heavenly ,
the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful ... the
lobby is gorgeous and inviting ...

The restaurant bar downstairs ( Cerulean) is so cool
and the bartender there ,Greg ,
is very talented and very knowledgable .
Along with his recommendations on our drinks we ordered
his highly recommended brussel sprouts as a snack ...
and now we can't stop thinking about them - no kidding ;)

So , great stay , great food , great drinks - great time :)

Room Tip: Walls are a little thin ... so recommend rooms away from the elevator ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyfulGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
JoyfulGirl25,

It was great to read your review on Trip Advisor! We always enjoy hearing about our guests experiences. We will be sure to pass along your comments to Greg in Cerulean. The brussel sprouts are amazing! Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to serving you again for your next visit to Indy.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I almost don't want to write a review for this place out of fear that everyone will discover this amazing hotel and it will be harder for me to get a room! LoL
This hotel is brand new! Very modern! Walk in shower! Comfy queen beds not tiny doubles! And the staff was over the top helpful to us and did whatever we requested!
If I had to pick any negative it would be that the walls were thin and it could be noisey. But I'm a light sleeper so it might not bother everyone.
The bar looked fun we did not go in because we had children. The lobby looked amazing!!!!! The decor was beautiful! I requested info on the furniture it was so nice!!
I'm pretty picky about hotels. So trust me this one is good!!!
They could use a little snack food store, snacks in the room were not good. But it's new perhaps the store is in the works :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Jen1201,

We are glad you found us! Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our staff was so accommodating for you. We are proud to be partnered with the Indianapolis Museum of Art and the beautiful furniture in the lobby, both help to create the atmosphere you spoke of. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and pretty comfortable. I didn't care for the shower with no door. The location was good for attending something at banker's life but other than that I didn't care for the location. Many of the other Indy hotels are very close to bars and restauraunts, and even connected by catwalk to the mall. There isn't anything right next to the hotel and it was a dark walk back from banker's life. We had breakfast at the market place which was included with our room rate. It was an odd experience. Everyone working there was friendly but the food was cold and the organization was confusing. We had some issues with our meal so they comped the meal, but with it being included I didn't feel compensated and the desk discounted our room rate so I was appreciative and satisfied. This hotel is ok, I might consider it if I was attending another banker's life field house event, but I probably won't be back. I didn't experience the bar but I looked really neat and the patio looked very tempting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilltruely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
jilltruely,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your experience with the staff. We do apologize for the experience you had in our restuarant. I will pass along your comments to ensure we resolve any opportunities we have.
We are currently in the process of adding a door to our each of our showers, so thank you so much for your suggestion. It reassures us that we are doing the right thing! The City Way neighborhood is still expanding. There are many great new places that are on the way, so for your next event at Banker's Life, come check us out again. Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My company recently had it's annual conference here and I could not be more pleased. The accomodations were way above and beyond and the service was unbelieveable. Just when I thought I had seen it all, lunch was served. All in all, a wonderful culinary experiance. Most conferences get to be dull and boring at some point, but not here. I continued to be overwhelmed by the curated art collection all over the hotel and the fact that I was greeted with a warm, genuine smile and "Hello" by every employee that I ran across. The Alexander is the new gold standard of hospitality and architecture in Indy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Bill C,

It was great to read your review on Trip Advisor! We are so happy your company selected The Alexander for your annual conference and it was great to hear the event was a big success and the staff went above and beyond. Our team of culinary experts do an amazing job of proving thoughtful foods for thoughtful minds. As you had mentioned the IMA curated art collection through out the hotel. What we are most proud of is receiving reviews such as yours to share with our staff. This keeps it exciting for us, knowing we are making a difference.

It would be are priviledge to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the city!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I usually stay at the Homewood Suites, downtown, just 4 blocks away from The Alexander. Recently, I needed a last-minute hotel in Indy, for business, and absolutely everything in the city was completely booked...with the exception of The Alexander. So, I was skeptical, but the reviews on TripAdvisor were great. So, I booked. And I'm so glad I did!! This place is a true find! Brand new, unique decor, friendly quick service, beautiful rooom (gorgeous!!), and an excellent restaurant. I will NEVER stay anywhere else when I come to Indianapolis - this place was fantastic!! Highly recommended!! The only downside - they don't have a loyalty "points" program. Eh, who cares - it's worth it anyway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpwilli910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
map1112,

Thank you so much for your raving review! We certainly appreciate your comments about our friendly service and unique decor. We pride ourselves on being a hotel designed around art. We are partnered with the Indianapolis Museum of Art and have commissioned pieces in our lobby and meeting space. We hope to see you back again for another business trip, or just for fun!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently attended a business conference at the Alexander. I have attended many conferences over the years at many different locations. I believe that the Alexander blows them all away. Service was TOP NOTCH. Food was excellent. Healthy snacks and many beverage choices were wonderful. VERY great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Erica H,

What an excellent 5 Star Review on Trip Advisor! We love to hear, "I have attended many conferences over the years at many different locations. I believe that the Alexander blows them all away. Service was TOP NOTCH. Food was excellent. Healthy snacks and many beverage choices were wonderful. VERY great experience." We cannot wait to share your review with our entire team and celebrate. We have assembled a team of dedicated associates and culinary experts to ensure we are the finest hotel in the city.

Thank you so much for your positive 5 Star Review. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to serving you again!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#1 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#8 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,886 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#15 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing