We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Palestine, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Alexander offers accommodations unlike any other in Indianapolis. The hotel is a "green" hotel, has an awesome art display, some pieces unique to Indy, others just unique. The staff was awesome, the room was beautiful.
Every where I went people were commenting on this being the best hotel in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Nancy W,

Thank you for the "Awesome" 5 Star rating on Trip Advisor! We are very proud of the hotel, our staff and our outstanding collection of art displayed through out the hotel. Art is in our DNA. We use it to create a unique sense of discovery and create a place that inspires, intrigues and stimulates our guests. We are an IACC hotel - International Association of Conference Centers and yes, "Green" with a Sliver LEED Certification in process. What we are most proud of is our carefully selected team of hospitality professionals and culinary experts. We believe in the Culinary Arts as well and the Contemporary Arts curated by the Indiana Museum of Art. When it comes to our culinary endeavours we focus on thoughtful foods for thoughtful minds. What we love the most, is hearing our guest comments. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to complete a Trip Advisor review. We do appreciate it!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    504
    207
    66
    41
See reviews for
437
682
70
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Alexander on the 6th of April. What a beautiful hotel. Everyone was so very friendly and it felt genuine. I liked the minimilist look of our room. The bed AND pillows were both extremely comfortable, a thing that some hotels don't seem to be able to manage. The lounge, Plat 99, was lovely and having drinks outside on the first really warm afternoon was wonderful. We had dinner at Cereleun which shares space with the Alexander. Food was Fabulous. We walked throught some of the hotel after dinner just to admire the artwork. It was really a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank granmary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
granmary1,

It was our pleasure starting off the week reading your wonderful 5 Star review of The Alexander! It is very rewarding knowing our guests enjoyed their guest room, our culinary & beverage offerings and a tour of the hotel's art collection. Our mission is to create inspiring environments which bring people together. It sounds like our staff of dedicated hospitality professionals and culinary experts delivered and exceeded your expectations. Please trust we will share and celebrate your review with our team.

We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to Indianapolis!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a Pacers game and loved it! It is very close the the Bankers Life fieldhouse and was able to walk to the game. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethclevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
beth_dz,

We hope you enjoyed the Pacer's game on your recent visit and thank you for choosing The Alexander. It is great to be neighbors with the Pacers and the Bankers Life Fieldhouse. The Dolce three rings represent; nourishment, connectivity and community - our partnership with the community is paramount in all we do! We appreciate your 5 Star Trip Advisor Review of The Alexander and it was our pleasure to serve you during your visit to the Circle City.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming play off season as we are confident our neighbors, the Pacers will enjoy success!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the NCAA Sweet 16 weekend and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how great this hotel handled all the people, especially after being open for only 2 months! They have a chic/modern look and feel to the place - but not overly modern to the point of uncomfy chairs, etc. Our room was a California King on the 5th floor. The hardwood floors are great, with the only downside being the women's heels on the floor above us. Room service was on-time, hot and tasty for breakfast. We will definitely be staying here again on future visits to Indy. Tip: if you're looking to save a few bucks, you can self-park in the attached garage for $7 less per night and you just walk over to the hotel in the enclosed connector on floor 3 of the garage. (it's only like a 30ft walk!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eschuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
escheutz,

Thank you for choosing The Alexander over this past weekend during the NCAA Sweet 16 Basketball. We were very please to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will share your feedback with our team. It was an exciting and busy weekend. It was our pleasure to apart of this event in Indianapolis and we appreciate your business.

We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to the Circle City!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargersville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was part of a group experience at the hotel. We visited Platt 99 and regardless of the atmosphere, which was staged due to our event, I engaged different employees of the property to test their knowledge and expand my own. I used to work in the area, so I felt comfortable asking particular questions. The staff is knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. They are competent and excited about the facility and the technological and environmental advances. As someone who pays attention to waste, I am extremely pleased with the sources set up to protect the guests and the environment. I'm not sure if I can afford to stay in a room, though they are fantastic in every aspect, but I look forward to eating more of the food I tasted. One con is educating the staff on the liquor provided because some is local. The staff is vital to education on the supplies on hand when distributors visit and share their products. Those of us who know the off-brand liquors will ask and if the staff is unaware, it makes them look "out of the loop:"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noble1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
noble 1582,

We loved your comments, "The staff is knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. They are competent and excited about the facility and the technological and environmental advances". We are very passionate about the environment and our upcoming acheivement of Silver LEED Certification. The owneship has installed the latest in technology to ensure the hotel is Green and we have a minimal carbon foot print. As you know this cannot be done by technology alone and we formed our committee of passionate hotel associates from every department to lead and educate the entire team on our continued practices, processes and focus on Green intitiatives. Combined with our passion for "Thoughtful Foods for Thoughtful Minds", we focus on healthly, locally grown farm to table concepts throughout the hotel.

It is exciting to be a part of The CityWay development and revitalization of vibrant downtown Indianapolis but reading your comments are most important as it reinforces we are on point in our mission and our guests appreciate the vision.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future and thank you again for sharing your comments in a review with Trip Advisor!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice addition to downtown and good service. I would recommend getting on the Hotel Tonight app so you can continue to flourish before other hotels in Indy do. Its the new and upcoming way to book rooms. Overall nice and modern. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmtcfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
nmtcfe,

We appreciate your recent review on Trip Advisor and will share your positive comments with our team of hospitality professionals. We are so excited to be in the great city of Indianapolis and to be apart of the community. Our goal is to create inspirig environments that bring people together. We truly appreciate your feedback and we will definately look into Hotel Tonight App you suggested. I have forward this information to our Director of Sales & Marketing as well as our IT Manager to explore this opportunity of our hotel. We appreciate the suggestion.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
DIrector of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just two months old and making a mark in downtown Indianapolis; conveniently located within walking distance of many attractions & shops. Stayed here three days on business, and felt at home immediately. Sleek, modern hotel with fine amenities. Service with a smile from all staff; the parking attendant, Matthew, remembered my by name after first checking in. Clean everywhere. Spacious state of the art rooms with hardwood floors & huge windows; very comfortable beds; bathrooms with top line toiletries. Ample breakfast buffet with made to order items; attentive servers. Good meeting rooms. -- And modern art everywhere you look that is so well integrated into the architecture. [Walls between bedrooms must be pretty thin; could hear next door guests talking.]

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mph111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
mph 111,

It is always great to received a positive review on Trip Advisor but when one receives a review such as your's from a Trip Advisor - Senior Contributor we could not be more proud. We have gathered a team of Indianapolis's finest talent and they will all be so excited to read your positive review and your kind words. The partnership with our hotel ownership and Dolce Hotels & Resorts has been a very positive and supportive venture. Our goal is to be the finest hotel in the Indianapolis market. When combining the components of exceptional service, outstanding product quality and the unique partnership with the Indiana Museum of Art we believe this is a receipe for success. It was our pleasure to serve you during your visit to the Circle City!

When your travels bring you back to the area in the future we would love to and look forward to serving you again.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,310 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,418 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,660 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing