We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for business meetings and socializing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for business meetings and socializing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Newly built hotel that just opened. Participated in a 2-day business meeting at the hotel and this is a great hotel for meetings. While you couldn't have a large convention at the hotel it would be great for small groups or for holding a smaller meeting when a large convention is in town. Several different meeting room options. No issues with Wifi. Food was excellent and the service was attentive. Considering the hotel had literally just opened the week before I thought the food service/hospitality was on point. The food options for meeting breaks were far above the usual hotel convention food. Then after the meeting you have 2 outstanding bars and 2 restaurants to choose from on the property. Walking distance to stadiums, convention center and heart of downtown.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank dlpcyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
dlpcyles,

Thank you for selecting The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel for your recent meeting in Indianapolis, it has been an exciting time for us with the opening of the hotel and The CityWay revitalization project. We are happy to read that you found your visit to be enjoyable and productive. Our goal is to create inspiring environments that bring people together!

We are an IACC Hotel - International Associate of Conference Centers and designed for Conference Meetings with a focus on Nourishment, Connectivity and Community. We are so excited you had a great meeting experience and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel when your travel plans bring you back to Indianapolis.


Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    296
    134
    44
    28
See reviews for
261
438
40
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I live in Indianapolis and have been so excited about the CityWay developments, especially the opening of The Alexander hotel. The check-in process was easy, and the desk clerk was very nice. The overall appearance of the hotel is beautiful: very modern with great art and fun furniture. We stayed in a room with two queen beds on the fourth floor. The room was great! All seemed well until we settled in for the night and the music from the lobby could be heard audibly from our room. At first we thought it may be from the hotel bar, Plat 99, which closes at 1am. However, 1am came and went and the music did not stop. The bed linens were nice and very cozy, but we did not find the mattress to be as comfortable as other comparable hotels. The shower pressure was terrible, and was noticeably impacted by others in other room turning on their water at the same time. Finally, at 8:30 am a housekeeper briefly knocked on the door before attempting to enter the room to clean. Thank goodness we had the door lock latched at the top. Compared to other downtown Indianapolis hotels I have stayed in, this one exceeded the others aesthetically, but did not come close in any other areas. Granted, the hotel has only been open 10 days, so I am sure some kinks are still being worked out, but I expected more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexanderGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Alexander Guest,

Thank you for visiting The Alexander Hotel. We are also very excited about the continuing developments through City Way and are happy to be a part of this new great location. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your interactions with the staff upon arrival to the hotel. I would like to apologize for the other inconveniences you experienced as your stay progressed. As a new hotel, our guest's first experiences are very important to us and our future success. We are in the process of updating some of the bathroom features and we have immediately adjusted the music levels in the lobby.

Thank you for your helpful feedback and we hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you as a guest of The Alexander Hotel.

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The Alexander is a new contemporary hotel in Indy. The staff is very attentive. We lunched at The Market restaurant in the hotel. It is a high end buffet with an awesome selectio of food, fresh cooked to order pasta. Oh, and the fresh baked pies!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndyTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
IndyTraveler10,

Your feedback on your visit to The Alexander experience is greatly appreciated, and your description of your culinary experience made me smile, thank you. We are truly excited about our hotel opening and equally excited about hearing your feedback.

Thank you again, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel for more fun, food and relaxation, Indianapolis is a great city to work, play & stay!

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#17 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing