We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably good Seafood near Keystone Mall.”
Review of Ocean Prime

Ocean Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 2,379 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: River Crossing Blvd., & 86th Street
Description: OCEAN PRIME is a modern American restaurant and lounge from renowned restaurateur Cameron Mitchell. Recognized by Indianapolis Monthly, Indy Star and Town & Country magazine, OCEAN PRIME Indianapolis delivers an extraordinary experience to guests. Located in the Keystone Crossing Corridor just east of the Fashion Mall, it’s the perfect choice for cocktails or an indulgent dinner, any day of the week. Stunning settings and a vibrant energy, an impressive menu of seafood and prime cuts of steak, signature cocktails, a Wine Spectator-honored wine list and truly genuine hospitality make OCEAN PRIME Indianapolis an ideal place to socialize, talk business, celebrate and indulge.
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reasonably good Seafood near Keystone Mall.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Attended a business meeting here. In the Prime room behind slilding glass doors- hopefully was sound proof and did not disturb the other patrons. For appetizers- had sweet chili calamari, crab cake and goat cheese ravioli. Main course- ginger salmon. dessert- carrot cake. Pro's- fresh sea food; con- missing... salt? The crab cake was good, but the taste would have been enhanced by a tinge more salt. Same with the Salmon. So the food tasted a little more flatter due to the missing ingredient. There was a thin 'bread crumbs like dry crust' on top of the salmon which may have had the ginger, but I did not taste the ginger at all! Mashed potatoes as a side were good. Carrot cake- OK- very sweet with lots of creamy frosting. Overall - reasonably good food. Easy accessibility - near Keystone shopping Mall, off 86th. May be good option for heart patients... seafood with less salt!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPrime, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear OscarWilde,
Thank you for your review of Ocean Prime. While we are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience, we apologize the dishes were under seasoned and the carrot cake was underwhelming. We will be sure to share this feedback with our team. We would like to follow up with you if you would be so kind as to email us at info@cameronmitchell.com

Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jessica Sauter
Guest Services Manager
Cameron Mitchell Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    56
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Um...maybe the steaks are Better”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I dine quite fabulously and often. We hadn't made it to Ocean Prime yet so I decided to take him there for his birthday. I'm SO thrilled he was impressed with his entree because I was not with mine. Let's start with the positives.
1. My grapefruit pear drink was divine. His wine was good too.
2. Great calimari but the crabcake was actually too lumpy and the sauce that adorned it was too much and took away from the tasty relish.
3. He had the snapper and it was delicious!
4. I thought it was very nice (and delicious) that he got to pick a dessert on the house. The carrot cake is very good!
5. The jalapeno au gratin potatoes were to die for!

Some negatives and why I'm disappointed.

I thought "ocean prime" would mean prime seafood. Now I dine at some very fine restaurants and I LOVE salmon. This salmon was prepared quit oddly. There were panko crumbs baked on top of it! For what??? It was supposed to have a ginger flavor (according to the menu). NO ginger flavor! The panko added nothing to that beautiful piece of fish. It minimized the flavor of the fish! This was a huge turnoff. I will give the restaurant another chance but it will be with a turf option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DivaLadyJ_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPrime, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DivaLadyJ_28,
Thank you for your review of Ocean Prime. While we are pleased you enjoyed most of your experience with us, we are so sorry to have disappointed you with the crab cake and our salmon dish. Our guest feedback is very important to us and we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you personally if you would please be so kind as to email us at info@cameronmitchell.com
Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Jessica Sauter
Guest Services Manager
Cameron Mitchell Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is one of many steakhouses on the north side/keystone area. Everything was wonderful albeit the prices. Cesar salad was great, steaks were both cooked well and our sides were equally wonderful (try the house potatoes)! The waiter stumbled a bit when I asked for a beer list but later provided a hand written list for me to reference. My special lady friend ordered the Black Orchid martini which was amazing but at 13 dollars a pop the tab will climb quickly. Desert menu was fair at best so run across the parking lot and go to the cheesecake factory.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1foot_out_the_door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“just OK”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was dissapointed when our party of 5 were placed in the very back of the restaurant. It was cold and we had to tell the waitress, who´s name was "Mona Lisa", to put on the heat 5 times until something happened. Staff were in my opinion a bit shabby uniformed, and their lack of knowledge on food and wine did not impress me (waitress could not tell us where the salmon was from and did not try to find out).The restaurant got something good going what goes for their food. The meal was good. On the other hand our table placement, the inattentive service and overall ambiance made this visit no more special than a trip to any chain restaurant, but with a bigger bill at the end of the meal.

Not to scare off any travellers the restaurant has a bar as well. This is located on your left hand side when entering Ocean Prime. There is a piano with live music, staff here was much better. The bartender even made the Vesper Martini properly (even though the drink itself has a questionable taste in my opinion).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPrime, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear CRNorway,
Thank you for your review. We apologize we did not provide the extraordinary service we expect and strive for at Ocean Prime. Furthermore, we are so sorry the ambiance and atmosphere did not allow for an enjoyable dining experience. We would really appreciate the opportunity to apologize personally if you would please email us at info@cameronmitchell.com
Again, thank you for your review. We hope to connect with you soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Sauter
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superior restaurant - a must if visiting Indianapolis”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Service was superior, french onion soup is wonderful, shrimp was great, salmon was outstanding. I cannot say enough about this restaurant - it was a "by accident" recommendation from a salesperson at Norstrom's - we were all glad we took her advise and ate there - our party of 6 had only great comments about this restaurant

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lov2travel51-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Prime also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing