We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The Best in Indy”
Review of Bluebeard

Bluebeard
Ranked #15 of 2,216 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: Bluebeard is a restaurant and bar located in the historic Holy Rosary Neighborhood on the southeast edge of downtown Indianapolis. Abbi Merriss has joined up with longtime friends Tom and Eddie Battista to create a unique food-focused experience. The menu offers contemporary American cuisine featuring the best local produce and meat our farms have to offer. The space, a renovated 1924 factory warehouse, features a family dining room, a bar room, a private dining room, an upstairs event space, and a courtyard. Our menu varies daily – inspired by the freshest and finest ingredients. We believe food is meant for sharing, and these are the local farmers who have shared their ingredients with us: Big City Farms, Butler Campus Farms, Crossroad Vintners, FarmIndy, Fischer Farm, Full Hand Farm, Growing Places Indy, Gunthorp Farms, Harvestland, Josh Horrigan, Smoking Goose Meatery, South Circle Farm, Traders Point Creamery, and Viking Lamb.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

The menu changes a lot so I won't review specific items in detail, but everything is fantastic here, the foodd, service, and location are great. They usually have a steak on the menu and it is fantastic, the brussel sprout dish is a must if its on the menu and the grilled breads with anchovy butter are great! Dont eat at chains in our Fair City, go to places like this

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IndyEastJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate31489279357, Manager at Bluebeard, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Thank you for preaching about the local greatness that Indy has to offer, and thank you for the kind review. The Brussels Sprouts and grilled bread are always on the menu, and we usually have a steak on as well. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 404 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2019

gourmet food and beverages.....serving staff very attentive, friendly, professional. Atmosphere very good- cozy considering outside temp in the negative!

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Vacation619627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate31489279357, Manager at Bluebeard, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Thank you for coming in and taking the time to write a review. We're pleased that you had a great experience, and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

This was my second visit. I enjoyed it even more than the first. Fantastic food, drinks, and service. Can’t wait for visit number three!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 7KellyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate31489279357, Manager at Bluebeard, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Kelly,
Thank you for the kind review. Were happy that you love our restaurant and can't wait to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is so so so good!!! And the service is just as phenomenal. My spouse and I were in town visiting from Chicago and came here for dinner. We had the tuna tartare, arancini, egg toast with chives and smoked roe, and finally the foie gras banana bread. All of the dishes were wonderful and I would order them all again happily but I will be dreaming about that foie gras and banana bread for a very very long time. We had such a nice experience here and will no doubt return here on our next visit to Indy.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank cbrennanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate31489279357, Manager at Bluebeard, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

Thank you for coming in and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to serving you again the next time that you are in Indy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

We hadn't seen our friends in a while - they live north and we live south, so we decided to meet in the middle. They suggested Bluebeard on Virginia Ave.
The website said no reservations except for large parties, and Saturday being what it is, we decided to get there when the doors opened at 5PM.
It was a good decision because by 6:15, the place was packed and rockin!
We began with an appetizer - the four of us shared the Charcuterie. We chose the rabbit terrine (a cold meat pressed loaf) and two cheeses recommended by our server Marx. We had a wonderful Pinot Gris to accompany. For our main course, I went with the salmon dinner - pan seared skin side down then baked to perfection! My wife had the monkfish - pieces of fish with kind of a shell fish consistency in a broth.
The food was cooked perfectly and arrived in a reasonable amount of time.
A second bottle of the same Pinot Gris accompanied the main course.
(BTW - Pay attention to the Small/Medium/Large portion headings. They are accurate and you could be unpleasantly surprised by the portion size if you don't!)
For desert, we waffled back and forth between the bread pudding and the Texas something or another - a brownie with stuff on top. We decided on the brownie but received the bread pudding instead. I asked Marx and he smacked his forehead and said "I'm sorry. Enjoy the bread pudding on us" and brought us the brownie as well.
Both deserts were wonderful.
Coffee was served in a French press and was out-of-this-world good!
We love this place.
It is more expensive than we usually like to spend but for a once in a while - what the heck! Before taxes and tip was just shy of $110.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate31489279357, Manager at Bluebeard, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

Bob,
Thanks for the kind words and for taking time out of your day to write a review. We love Marx and are so glad you enjoyed your experience. Please drop in for dinner again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebeard also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Bluebeard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.