We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and bedding need updating!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #18 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rooms and bedding need updating!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The hotel is old but nice. Nothing special. My bedding had holes in the sheets and they appeared to be very worn out and stained. i expect more than this from a hilton. THey had a card to buy Hilton Bedding from the Corporate office. Perhaps they should take some advice and buy new for rooms. The edges of the carpeting and in the corners need some serious TLC. Being old shouldnt mean being dirty.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich196840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for your review. I have directed your comments to our Executive Housekeeper to investigate our sheets. I would like to direct your comments regarding the carpet to our Maintenance department also but need some more information from you. Could you please write to inddh-salesadm@hilton.com to let us know which room you stayed in so we can take a look? I also want to make sure you have the correct hotel as you mentioned we have cards in the room to buy Hilton bedding. Our guest rooms do not have these cards. If you have accidentally posted this review to our hotel instead of another, I can forward your review to that hotel to alert them of your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    327
    114
    45
    31
See reviews for
247
213
43
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have stayed in many Hilton Garden Inns and have enjoyed every one but this hotel was completely different. It is an older building that has been converted to a hotel and upon check in, we were completely happy with the suite that we had overlooking Downtown Indy. We left to go to dinner and a musical and when we came back, we were immediately hit with an overwhelming smoke smell in both rooms of the suite. It seemed stronger in the living room so we had to close the door to the bedroom and were unable to use it while our kids slept, which was the whole point of getting a suite. I called the front desk finally and was told that the floor below ours is a smoking floor and the smoke was coming up through the ventilation system. No room changes were offered, just an explanation. The next morning, my husband called the front desk and after talking to several people, we were only given a $50 deduction off the price of the suite. Instead of staying and swimming and working out, we packed up our things and left as quickly as we could. We were very disappointed with the hotel, the appeasement of management and the visit as a whole. As much as we are in Indy, we will never stay at this hotel again. As a pediatrician, my husband knows the risks of secondhand smoke and as a parent of a child with environmental allergies, we are well aware of the dangers that we slept in that night. I would not have put the smoking floors below the non smoking floors! Bad planning. On top of that, the breakfast buffet was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank u2nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for writing. As I understand, the General Manager has been in touch with you in regards to the inconveniences you experienced while here. Again, I would like to apologize for the way the situation was handled. I hope you will give us another try for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn (downtown) the evening of Jan 1, 2011 prior to watching the Indianapolis Colts. We normally stay at the Hampton Inn (downtown) but the Hilton Garden Inn was much cheaper. I was very impressed by the service, complimentary breakfast (honor members) and the pleasant attitude of the staff. The room was on the 5th floor with a king size bed that was perfect for us. The bathroom was topnotch and was very comparable to the Conrad Hilton in Indianapolis. Overall it was a great stay and we intend to stay there again this coming weekend for the Colt's Playoff Game! Self Park was $9.00 and totally convenient (across the street) and in a covered garage.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbp05ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. How about that game?! Let's hope the Colts have another victory this Saturday. We'll see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a company Christmas party downtown. This hotel is always fantastic. The people that work in the lobby are very helpful and always happy. The wait staff at breakfast was very pleasant! The only thing I will say is if you do not enjoy a firm mattress then beware. I personally love it, but I was not expecting it and flopped down on the bed and nearly knocked the wind out of myself! It is a very comfortable bed if you enjoy firm mattresses though!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwrichtetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for the positive review! I hope the bed wasn't too firm. You know, our beds are the new Hilton Garden Inn standard, Garden Sleep System, which all HGI's should have by now. They are adjustable between firm and soft using a dial at the top corner of the bed. Kings are adjustable on both sides where queens and doubles have one adjustable air chamber. I hope this helps for your future stays with us and other HGI's. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very nice Hotel and great service. We had multiple couples in several rooms here. We required extra chairs, and tables for a function, they were very accomodating and pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-IndyDowntown, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for you for the review! We are glad to hear you had a good stay! Next time you come, you can use the self-parking garage across the street. It's currently $14 per car, per night with unlimited in and out privileges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Beautiful room! The people at the front desk were incredibly friendly and helpful. I did the valet service, and I don't think I will again. Not that they weren't incredibly nice and efficient, but because there is a parking garage right next to the hotel. The hotel is right on the circle!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jraestoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva NY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I spent 9 nights in the Hilton Garden Inn on Market St and can truly say it was a home away from home.

Unlike the other two HGI properties i have stayed in, this was not a new construction. The hotel is within the walls of an old bank building. It is a very elegant decor which incorporates many of the elements of the old bank. They have posted photos of the old bank and interesting bits of information about its former life.

My room (king bed) was very spacious and the housekeeping staff kept it spotless the entire time. The A/C took some getting used to - the thermostat did not seem to be completely accurate but after the first day i figured out how to adjust it to my liking.

The desk staff was plesant and professional. But i have to say that a couple of times their directions to various attractions were inaccurate or out of date. But i felt that they were far and above the calibre of most i have encountered in my travels.

Their event coordinator, Lindsey, was endlessly patient and proactive with the organizers of our group's visit and really made us feel like she was concerned about our arrangements and enjoyment.

The hotel sits practically on the Circle and is an easy walk to dozens of restaurants of all price and variety. There was never a problem finding somewhere to dine. Within the circle is the "Chocolate Cafe" - candy store and ice cream parlor. Definitely a "must do"! Also, stop at the "Tea Pots & Treasures" store directly across from the hotel for a bit of calm and sanity.

Nothing to do with the hotel - but it was very aggrivating to me that the majestic Monument in the center of the Circle was not open after 5:00 at night and actually CLOSED on Mondays and Tuesdays! In the middle of vacation season? Give me a break! Very very very poor planning on the part of the City or whoever regulates that attraction. Still - be sure to take a long time to walk around it and read the various inscriptions. It is truly amazing. Just sorry that i was unable to take the trip to the top and purchase souvineres because of the screwy hours of operation.

But back to the Hilton Garden Inn- two thumbs WAY UP for the hotel and the amenities!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,360 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,261 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 10 E Market St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, an Indianapolis, Indiana hotel close to restaurants, museums and shopping. Relax in a spacious guest room or suite at this hotel in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. Each guest room features a work desk, microwave, refrigerator, complimentary internet access and a 32-inch HDTV. Suites feature additional living areas with sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing