We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

Indeed it was a nice hotel. There were fresh cookies at check-in counter when i arrived. Nicely remodeled, decor had a warm feeling to it, but rooms were small. Didn't like the placement of the bathroom. It was right next to the bed so one someone goes in the light will definitly shine on you. The bathroom too was small. Overall i enjoyed my stay i guess according to its location you get what you pay for. I associated everything in the city to be small with a bigger price.

  • Liked — The hotel was quiet. Didn't hear a lot of noise and commotion from the hallway as people entered and exited their rooms.
  • Disliked — The layout of the room with the location of the bathroom.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    300
    109
    43
    28
See reviews for
228
198
41
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

Wow. If you are looking to stay downtown, this is the place. Not only does it have an excellent location in city center, the service and accomodations cannot be beat. My room was large with a seperate living area including desk, fold away bed, t.v., etc. Very nice. Be advised: parking is $18/night. Overall though this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauri1232000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaspich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

My husband has been staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Indy since September and will be there till January. We both can't say enough about it. They have treated him wonderfully. I have visited a few times and have been treated wonderfully as well. The hotel offers a nice pool, fitness center, close to all the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank rgaspich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Quoin IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2006

Stayed the weekend in Indianapolis. Hilton gaarden Inn was great. I came with 2 teenage girls and we had a great time! The hotel staff was very helpful about every thing we needed and places that we wanted to go. We felt totally safe staying in downtown and loved seeing the city. Thank you to the staff at the hilton Garden Inn for being so nice and helpp!!! Would stay again!!!

  • Liked — location of the hotel. and the staff friendlyness
  • Tips/Secrets — Just have fun there is lots to do
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank yoshi9024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

BOOKING IT: We only live a couple hours away from Indianapolis so this was a last-minute decision to get away as a family. On-line the rates were over $200 due to an expo in town, but we called the hotel itself and secured a rate of $159., their rack rate.

GETTING THERE: The hotel is very close to I-65/70. The hotel itself is well-marked and easy to find.

THE HOTEL ITSELF: Outside is made of limestone, Neo-classical period. It is a historical building, the Fletcher Savings and Trust bank constructed it in 1914. In 2002 the Hilton Garden Inn bought and restored the building and opend it in 2003 so everything looks recently remodeled. Inside: the style is sleek and modern, but with the old bones of high ceilings and marble columns. Look up to see the beautiful mouldings. The fireplace would be nice to warm up at in the winter, a nice feature in the lobby!

OUR ROOM: We loved having room 1522 and would consider it an upgraded room since it was a corner room and so there was more square footage and an additional huge window ! The color scheme is sage green, soft gold and cream. We had two double beds since we travel with our two small children. The bathroom must be handicap-accessable since the door was extra-wide and grip bars were provided in the shower/tub. Our room had a view of Monument Circle, very pretty with the fountain at the base and lots of flowers next to the fountain. The bathroom counter was granite, as was the wall in the shower/tub. Attention was paid to detail, the window treatments are elegant and also have sheers and room-darkening panels. Also, the towels were folded to fan out and toilet paper folded to a point. BONUS: Our room had a microwave and small refrigerator with cabinets to store any food items you brought! So, go ahead and pack that microwave popcorn or if you get in late they sell microwavable meals downstairs!

STAFF: EXCEPTIONAL!! The nicest, most helpful people! We are used to working with polite staff, but the group here welcomes in a warm, genuine way and we were asked several times if there was anything we needed.

POOL: The reality is better than the internet photos. In reality wall-sconces give up-lighting which is flattering as opposed to the internet photo which looks like it would be florescent lighting. The pool was empty every time except once, we visited five times. There are no slides or diving boards, so bring your own pool toys if you have kids. The pool goes from 3-5 feet and jacuzzi looks like it could fit 8-10 people. A nice feature is that the fitness center looks out to the pool. This is good because: 1) Parents can work out while older kids swim. 2) The fitness center is small and having a wall of glass makes it seem bigger. The fitness center had a bike, stair stepper, weights, treadmills, etc. (Don't forget your room key, you'll need it to unlock the pool doors.) The pool is well maintained, it smells of bleach and we saw several maintenance workers come in to check things, turn on pool lights, etc. Plenty of towels are provided and even a bin to leave used towels. The women's bathroom (I didn't venture in to check out the mens, sorry!) is one big room with plenty of space. A hair dryer is provided and tissues. In one corner is a shower scrubbed to the point that it looks like no one has ever used it. The shower curtain looks new. It could be convenient to swim or workout, then take your shower & get ready right there.

EXTRAS: Next to the pool is a coin-operated laundry room in case you like to do laundry during your stay. (We don't, so we are assuming that the machines work properly.) In case you forgot the soap, they sell forgotton items and snacks, etc. at "Pantry Pavillion" next to the front desk.
We did use the business center once. It is well-lit and organized. We had no problems using the Internet in our room and printing off our documents in the business center.
Room service is available, I would strongly recommend dining outside the hotel. We are big fans of PF Changs, Starbucks is across the street, there is even a micro-brewery nearby, "Rock Bottom". My husband had a business meeting at the hotel's "Great American Grill" and noted that the staff were doing their best, but the food itself was not "great". Eat elsewhere.

We walked to the Circle Center Mall. I would not want to walk there in high heels or in freezing/rainy weather, but in July it was a lovely walk. Bring comfortable shoes.

We also recommend the nearby Children's Museum.

OVERALL: I would say this is a 4-star hotel for families, business travelers, disabled, and singles! If they wanted to move up to 5-star, I would recommend a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, a cd player, some bathrobes, up-graded bedding (the bedding if comfortable and brand new, but it isn't like sleeping on a cloud such as the Westin's heavenly beds.) and better hotel food service. I would highly recommend this hotel, we have stayed in many hotels in Indy and this is the best 4-star we have found! Uh-oh! The secret is out!!

TRAVEL TIP: Request the corner rooms!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, convenient location, beautiful room, clean room and pool, unique building
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a corner room facing Monument Circle
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
23 Thank SJL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

I chose the Hilton Garden Inn near Monument Circle for our stay based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews that it gets. I want to add one more...and I'll try not to repeat what is already posted.

The good to great: Nice rooms with high ceillings, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, not a "cookie-cutter" hotel (it is a renovated bank building that was unused for 10 years.) All amenities worked, comfortable bed with good pillow choices, lots of storage. Excellent location in a marvellous convention city - I lived in Indy 25 years ago, and they've redone downtown twice since then...great job! Good coffee in lobby all day long.

The less than good: Some long waits for elevators. (It seems that there is no "freight" elevator. The staff uses the guest elevators, but I don't think they are allowed to board when guests are on. The result is that they call for the elevator, it stops on their floor, they see you on it, and they wait for the next one.) But that means your elevator can stop 2 or 3 times on the way down. AC system has two choices - fan continously ON (and it is loud) or no AC at all.

There are a TON of hotels in downtown Indy. This is an excellent choice, and I now understand why it is so highly regarded.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DaveinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2006

Just returned from a stay at this hotel, overall I had a great experience and will definitely return for both business and personal stays.

The room was nicely decorated and well appointed. My room included a comfy king size bed, granite counter top in the bathroom, large windows and a very open, spacious feeling due to the 12 foot ceilling. Other conveinces included free internet, a coffee maker, microwave and small refridgerator. The maids do a great job of cleaning up as well.

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Everyone from the bellman, to the bar tenders and the front desk staff made every effort to make me feel like my business was important to them.

The location can't be beat either. It is less than 1 block from the Circle, and also close to the mall, Conceco Fieldhouse and many restaurants. As a single woman who often travels alone for business, I felt very safe at this hotel.

Having the business center was a great plus too. There are 2 computers along with a color laser printer and copier/fax machine. The best part was that this was all free.

I only had a few minor complaints. The exercise room and pool were on the small side. I had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant, American Grill, and found the food to be kind of gross and overpriced.

If you want a quick bite, skip the hotel restaurant - Giorgio's Pizza is directly across street - great food and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#14 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 10 E Market St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, an Indianapolis, Indiana hotel close to restaurants, museums and shopping. Relax in a spacious guest room or suite at this hotel in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. Each guest room features a work desk, microwave, refrigerator, complimentary internet access and a 32-inch HDTV. Suites feature additional living areas with sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing