We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No internet connection!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #19 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No internet connection!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great location, really nice hotel but we were very disappointed when we got to our room and tried to connect to the internet only to be told by the Front Desk that in our room 1518 there was no connection due to the fact that it's an old hotel and the narrow hallways and location of our room meant no internet. We were advised to come down to reception or go to the elevator lobby on our floor with our laptop to get connection and then we could take our computer back to the room and the connection would follow us!!!!! Obviously this does not work as our room was a dead zone!!
We were not offered a discount for our inconvenience.
Apart from this annoyance, the hotel was lovely and as I said a great location to restaurants and Starbucks but there are plenty of other hotels to choose from that I'm sure have internet in ALL their rooms.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 1518. Definitely ask when you book for a room with Internet connection. The Fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibird63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indyilinds, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay other than the fluke with the internet. Aparrently there are two rooms on the 15th floor with are affected by this anamoly. We are working on getting another Wireless Access Point or signal booster to place in that area to reduce or eliminate this issue. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope you will give us another shot in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    319
    113
    45
    30
See reviews for
241
207
41
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Booked this hotel online and it is one of the most charming Hilton properties I've ever stayed in. Property is a vintage building right in the middle of the great downtown attractions for walking and dining. Check out Libertine which is just a block or two away for phenomenal cocktails and food. Try the waffle with chicken liver pate with your drinks, you can crawl back to your great room at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Hotel offers Hillton HHonors members very generous hospitality, I was impressed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanKStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in Indianapolis for one night for a show we were going to. We wanted to walk to the Murat Theater, instead of having to worry about parking and fees. On all the maps I looked at, this hotel was the closest and even the cheapest, so it made sense to stay here. There was some kind of children's festival going on when we arrived, so we decided to do valet parking to make it easier on ourselves. The valets were really nice and didn't seem to expect a tip, although we tipped every time. Check in was easy and really fast. We had a nice room on the 6th floor. Everything is updated and it's a good size. We were the second furthest room away from the elevators and that was nice, so traffic was low. The bed was okay at first, but once we figured out how to adjust the firmness, we were good to go. I guess we didn't listen to the clerk who checked us in when she explained to us nor did we see the display on how to work the beds until we checked out. :) Anyway, the location is great. You have to walk a couple of blocks to get to a lot of different restaurants, but there are some nearby. We enjoyed walking and felt safe, which was a BIG concern for me. For those looking to walk downtown and are kind of weary, I am the type of person who would rather drive just in case something were to happen on foot, but I felt pretty safe walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 3 family members the night before we participated in the Indy Mini-Marathon. It is an excellent location, right off the Circle in downtown Indy, within easy walking distance to restaurants and entertainment, as well as our starting line. Our room was quite large so it was easy for 4 people to spread out. Fridge and microwave were handy and the beds (which have adjustments for firmness) were comfortable. The service was excellent. They allowed a late check-out, something other hotels will not do after the mini, and were always prompt in responding to our requests. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I am told that John Dillinger once robbed this place when it was a bank. It is certainly historical and projects an image out of the 1930s. The hotel is clean and comfortable with good service and an excellent breakfast. The hosts will make you feel at home in a better than average Hilton Garden Inn.
There are two issues: There are only four 20-minute unloading parking places in front and you have to fight the cabbies and then the valet parkers to get one, even for a moment. The valet people shamelessly hustle tips and will demand that you move if they are not paid off. Self parking (recommended) is in a garage just 100 feet south on the west side of Pennsylvania Ave. You can pull a ticket there and then have it validated at the hotel. The second issue is that the blackout curtains are an inch too short now that new windows are installed. This means east-facing rooms learn about sunrise about 10 seconds after it happens.

Room Tip: Avoid the east side during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Sorry for the pun. I have seen few historic building-conversion hotels that turned out good for the traveller, but this is one. I stayed here on a business trip and was given an accessible room on an upper floor. It was very roomy, nicely furnished and included a small microwave, refrigerator and standard coffee pot. The bathroom was especially roomy. All-in-all the room wasn't luxurious but it was very nice.

Staff was friendly, check-in/check-out efficient, and there are many restaurants in the area. The hotel is located in the center of the downtown area and there is easy walking to the businesses I was there to visit. The only negative was a noisy air handling system but this is a common problem and at least it worked.

I couldn't have been happier with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timminn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I am here frequently so means, I am satisfied... The people are very friendly and helpful... The rooms are clean and the b'fast is great.. The hotel is located downtown so means everything you need you can get without car.... What else you could look for if you stay there 5 weeks or longer?
Just have been there end of March till April 7th.. The staffs make you feel like a part of that place... Thx a lot to all of you for a vey nice service there

Room Tip: Since the hotel is downtown located, the noise level is related to it so I would try to get a room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreas_schuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,257 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,396 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 10 E Market St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, an Indianapolis, Indiana hotel close to restaurants, museums and shopping. Relax in a spacious guest room or suite at this hotel in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. Each guest room features a work desk, microwave, refrigerator, complimentary internet access and a 32-inch HDTV. Suites feature additional living areas with sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing