We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Ranked #52 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed here during the IMIS event at the convention center. This hotel is pretty new and directly across from The Lucas Oil Stadium. Check-in went fairely well and we we're handled professionaly and promtply. The only situation upon check-in was the fault of our companies booking agent, as all of our rooms (3) were reserved under our individual names and not the company, which created some confusion for both us and the front desk staff- but was handled with the upmost care and professionalism. The front desk clerk didn't skip a beat.

Our rooms we're nice, clean, comfy, and all appeared to be in working condition. This hotel does have an indoor pool and whirlpool area- though as much as I wished to utilize I was unable to. I did however enjoy the breakfast area and food served. Hot eggs, bacon, sausage, and other various choices. Very impressive.

The free internet access was a huge plus! Parking was alright. There is a sports bar 1/2 block adjacent to the hotel property which was nice too. Plenty of restaurants and nightlife only blocks away. We sampled many and enjoyed all.

Our entire staff enjoyed this hotel, though due to the weather this particular week the walk to the convention center got a little old. Though that is only a personal item based on myself and co-workers- it should not detour anyones choice of this hotel.

Would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    67
    32
    8
    13
See reviews for
49
43
7
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I chose this hotel based on it's prime location next to Lucas Oil Stadium. I found it to be exceptionally clean, even the room carpets, which are sometimes the least appealing part of a room. Our room was spacious and welcoming, the linens fresh and the bathroom large and sparkling. The breakfast room was clean and the food tasty and plentiful. We had no problem with the wi-fi and the flat screen TV was nice.

I stay at many Holiday Inn Expresses and found this to be one of the nicest ones (although most are great). The staff was exceptionally pleasant and I would stay again in a heartbeat. I truly cannot believe that other posters here found this hotel dirty. I am extremely picky about my accomodations, and was very pleased during my three-night stay. It is a bit of a far walk to most of the other downtown amenities, such as most restaurants and the mall, but not too bad.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billmelater123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

This hotel has the worst behind-the-front-desk staff I have ever seen. They were very rude and disrespectful. I had the same problem as the previous reviewer regarding the parking fee. The hotel's own website (not a third-party travel agent) says "All guest room rates include complimentary Express Start breakfast and complimentry [sic] parking (limit one parking space per guest room)." Worse than that, the in-room hotel directory says there is Free Parking. But the parking fee is not my main issue; rather, I am more upset by the management and staff of this hotel. Customer service does not exist at this hotel. If you have a problem during your stay, be prepared to handle it yourself. I would recommend finding another hotel in the area and avoiding this one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeside21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
We are extremely sorry for your experience during your recent stay. We are always focused on improving our guest service and ensuring every guest has a great stay. We welcome guest feedback so that we can continue to improve our front desk service.

If there is anything specific we could have done to improve your visit, please contact the hotel and ask to speak with the General Manager. Any suggestions you can provide are welcomed and will receive the full attention of the hotel staff and myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel seems nice in the common area, but that's where it ends. Our room had a horrible odor (old cigarette smoke) that got worse with the heat turned on. The shower floor did not seem clean. Many channels were offered on tv, but you could not access them. The pool room had dirty towels laying all over and again I questioned the cleanliness of the floor. BUT our BIGGEST PROBLEM with this hotel was with the people behind the desk. This hotel's website AND in room information claims that parking is free. Well, what they don't tell you when you sign in, is that you are signing to a $10 non-refundable parking fee. We talked to 2 different people who were either unhelpful, or VERY unwilling to do anything about this. The manager was rude and discourteous and refused to acknowledge the "free parking" even when we showed her the website. What ever happened to admitting your mistake?? or even "The costumer is right." This place left a very BAD taste in my mouth and a smell in my nose. I will NOT be returning. There are MANY MANY MANY other great area hotels!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianapolis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
I am so sorry you encountered problems with your recent stay. Your stay did not live up to your expectations or ours at the hotel. I request an opportunity to rectify the situation as the last thing we would like to have is an unhappy guest.

The Holiday Inn Express is pleased to provide the least expensive hotel parking rates in downtown Indianapolis. While we wish it could be free, due to the opening of Lucas Oil Stadium next door the hotel lost substantial parking. We now contract with an outside vendor which charges a daily parking fee. This has been in place since January 1, 2009.

While this information has been posted on our hotel website there are thousands of places to book hotel rooms online through third party travel agents. Unfortunately not all of these websites update their content resulting in a lot of misinformation. We work with our travel partners to correct information whenever this is brought to our attention.

If there is anything we can do to convince you to try us again, please contact the hotel and ask to speak with the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We arrived earlier than check-in time, but the receptionist happily checked us in. The room was in excellent shape. It was spacious, clean, well decorated, and had a flat screen TV. We had a great view of the stadium across the road. There were no events at the stadium during our stay. There was a coffee machine, with good quality coffee supplied.

The bathroom was spacious, and never steamed up once during showers. Towels were always soft.

We made us of the pool and spa, and these were very good. Well maintained, clean, and with plenty of fresh towels available. The sunbed area outside the pool is small, but got good sun. There is passing traffic nearby, and a view of the energy plant(?), but these did not interfere with our enjoyment of the sun area.

Breakfast was very good, always a variety of options both hot and cold, and always fresh, replenished by helpful staff.

There is wi-fi in the hotel, but it did not extend to our room (3rf floor). The room did have a socket for wired internet, but we did not try it. However, wi-fi worked fine in the lobby and dining area. There is also a computer and printer in the dining area, free for customers to use. There always seemed to be fresh coffee on tap in the dining area, which helped make this area a pleasant place to spend time.

Parking was no problem, but has to be paid for ($10 per day, still cheaper than many places in town, although we did spot one nearby car park that was offering weekday parking for $5 per day on SOME days of the week, but not all days).

The hotel is within walking distance of the centre of downtown, although some people might find it a bit too far to walk to Monument Circle. We found it fine, and also walked to White River Park and the museums and canal.

The lobby has a useful small shop selling all sorts of things such as umbrellas and ready meals (which you could heat up in the microwave in the dining area).

We chose this hotel because it seemed to offer the best balance of price and convenience of location for downtown. We were slightly apprehensive that it might be too far from the centre, but believe now that we made the best choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
306 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel is very convenietly located right across from the Colts stadium and within walking distance of many attractions. We were excited when we arrived. However that excitment faded when our daughter took out a blanket and found it covered in long hairs. More hairs were found on the bed spread and on the bathroom floor. When confronted the front desk, they said the hotel was full but they would send up someone to sweep. They said it would be an hour because their cleaning person was also their shuttle driver. Several hours later we were still waiting. We once again went to the front desk and was told the cleaning person had left for the evening. They offered us new sheets but said we would have to put them on ourselves. They also made the comment that "Like most hotels, we wash our comforters quarterly"...there is a "comforting" thought!
All in all, the staff did not seem suprised about the issue and really showed no eagerness to set it right. They did provide a slight discount to our bill, but I would have rather paid full price for a clean room!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Our apologies for your recent stay - it was clearly not up to the standards we expect at the hotel. Following the completion of our hotel renovation earlier this year the entire staff has a renewed sense of pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations for every guest.

Unfortunately this pride was not extended to you. Thank you for letting us know about your experience as this provides the entire staff with new ways to improve guest service and satisfaction. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express takes guest feedback very seriously and will do whatever it takes to correct our errors.

If there is something else we can do to rectify your recent stay, please do not hesitate to ask! The last thing we want is for a guest to leave the hotel less than happy with their recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed here for my bachelorette party and loved it! It's a great hotel for friends and casual trips to the city. It's within 10 blocks of the bars, so it would be a cheap cab ride if you couldn't make it back. It's right next to Lucas Oil, so it'd be perfect for games and concerts. The rooms were perfectly clean, staff friendly, parking was more affordable than central downtown garages, and it was quiet and comfortable. I've had great experiences with Holiday Inns in other cities, so it's nice to see they are on the same level in my home city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyl33t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Comfort Suites City Centre
#83 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Address: 410 S Missouri St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre, located in beautiful downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy sensational shopping, exciting nightlife, as well as both professional and amateur sporting events all within walking distance. This downtown Indianapolis hotel is conveniently located off I-70, two blocks south of the Indiana Convention Center and footsteps from the new Lucas Oil Stadium - home of the Indianapolis Colts! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre offers a fresh decor with inviting rooms which were recently renovated in 2009. Upgrade to a romantic whirlpool room or a spacious suite with kitchenette. This downtown hotel offers affordable meeting space, indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, Suite Shoppe convenience store, and guest laundry facilities. A complimentary hot Express Start breakfast is available daily featuring signature cinnamon rolls and a rotating menu of hot items. Our attractive guest rooms include free high-speed Internet access and flat panel HDTVs with movie channels. Shuttle service is available in the immediate downtown area for a nominal fee, based on availability. The hotel is located 20 minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport. The 'Green Line' airport shuttle provides inexpensive door to door transportation. Affordable parking available on site. Enjoy our 100% Smoke Free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing