We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Ranked #44 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, decent location”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We arrived earlier than check-in time, but the receptionist happily checked us in. The room was in excellent shape. It was spacious, clean, well decorated, and had a flat screen TV. We had a great view of the stadium across the road. There were no events at the stadium during our stay. There was a coffee machine, with good quality coffee supplied.

The bathroom was spacious, and never steamed up once during showers. Towels were always soft.

We made us of the pool and spa, and these were very good. Well maintained, clean, and with plenty of fresh towels available. The sunbed area outside the pool is small, but got good sun. There is passing traffic nearby, and a view of the energy plant(?), but these did not interfere with our enjoyment of the sun area.

Breakfast was very good, always a variety of options both hot and cold, and always fresh, replenished by helpful staff.

There is wi-fi in the hotel, but it did not extend to our room (3rf floor). The room did have a socket for wired internet, but we did not try it. However, wi-fi worked fine in the lobby and dining area. There is also a computer and printer in the dining area, free for customers to use. There always seemed to be fresh coffee on tap in the dining area, which helped make this area a pleasant place to spend time.

Parking was no problem, but has to be paid for ($10 per day, still cheaper than many places in town, although we did spot one nearby car park that was offering weekday parking for $5 per day on SOME days of the week, but not all days).

The hotel is within walking distance of the centre of downtown, although some people might find it a bit too far to walk to Monument Circle. We found it fine, and also walked to White River Park and the museums and canal.

The lobby has a useful small shop selling all sorts of things such as umbrellas and ready meals (which you could heat up in the microwave in the dining area).

We chose this hotel because it seemed to offer the best balance of price and convenience of location for downtown. We were slightly apprehensive that it might be too far from the centre, but believe now that we made the best choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    80
    37
    8
    14
See reviews for
57
51
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel is very convenietly located right across from the Colts stadium and within walking distance of many attractions. We were excited when we arrived. However that excitment faded when our daughter took out a blanket and found it covered in long hairs. More hairs were found on the bed spread and on the bathroom floor. When confronted the front desk, they said the hotel was full but they would send up someone to sweep. They said it would be an hour because their cleaning person was also their shuttle driver. Several hours later we were still waiting. We once again went to the front desk and was told the cleaning person had left for the evening. They offered us new sheets but said we would have to put them on ourselves. They also made the comment that "Like most hotels, we wash our comforters quarterly"...there is a "comforting" thought!
All in all, the staff did not seem suprised about the issue and really showed no eagerness to set it right. They did provide a slight discount to our bill, but I would have rather paid full price for a clean room!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Our apologies for your recent stay - it was clearly not up to the standards we expect at the hotel. Following the completion of our hotel renovation earlier this year the entire staff has a renewed sense of pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations for every guest.

Unfortunately this pride was not extended to you. Thank you for letting us know about your experience as this provides the entire staff with new ways to improve guest service and satisfaction. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express takes guest feedback very seriously and will do whatever it takes to correct our errors.

If there is something else we can do to rectify your recent stay, please do not hesitate to ask! The last thing we want is for a guest to leave the hotel less than happy with their recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed here for my bachelorette party and loved it! It's a great hotel for friends and casual trips to the city. It's within 10 blocks of the bars, so it would be a cheap cab ride if you couldn't make it back. It's right next to Lucas Oil, so it'd be perfect for games and concerts. The rooms were perfectly clean, staff friendly, parking was more affordable than central downtown garages, and it was quiet and comfortable. I've had great experiences with Holiday Inns in other cities, so it's nice to see they are on the same level in my home city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyl33t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

All I can say is Location, Location, Location. I looked out my second story window and all I could see was Lucas Oil Stadium. If you are attending an event at the stadium or Consenco Fieldhouse you could not make a better choice. Indoor pool, breakfast, hot tub and new parking garage. Parking is $10 per day in either the lot or structure. My studio suite was clean and like new. The place was packed with NCAA fans from the stadium and I never heard a peep from anyone while in my room. I did not come to Indy for the games, I just explored downtown. Great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

My husband is staying at the hotel for a 5 day convention and has stayed there for the past 2 years for the same event.This morning at breakfast a very nice staff member completely dished his breakfast plate and when they asked if he would like anything else he told them that he was going to grab another plate for his buisness partner. They completely dished him another full plate! He was amazed. He didn't expect to get waited on. Since he would be gone over Valentine's Day I was desperately trying to find him a small gift that he wouldn't have to pack home. I contacted the hotel via email to see if they could help me out. Amazingly the promptly wrote back first thing in the morning. This is what I got,"We would be happy to assist. Please advise what you would like for us to pick up, and I will have someone on my staff take care of this. Regards, Christine Robinson General Manager"
All I can say is wow!
He also says that the beds and pillows are very comfortable. He is an avid business traveler and it it rare to hear him praise a hotel. Way to go HIexpress

  • Liked — Amazing staff and comfortable clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BounderBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Very friendly and accommodating when we came to hotel. Because the NFL game was across the street we couldn't check in until after 4pm because so many rooms needed to be cleaned, but they gave us parking pass so we could stay in hotel. Friendly in evening too, but front desk look tired in the morning when we checked out. Which I totally understand. I will be staying again at the hotel when I fly out for another Colts NFL game.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and Great Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I stayed at this hotel on business and it was booked through Hotwire. It was clean and new. I arrived late at nite to check in to my room and left in the morning. The lobby was pleasant and the breakfast was adequate to get some morning food. The location seemed nice especially for the football games although if you're looking for something near the city circle center, this would not be the place. It was fine though, I was satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Address: 410 S Missouri St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre, located in beautiful downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy sensational shopping, exciting nightlife, as well as both professional and amateur sporting events all within walking distance. This downtown Indianapolis hotel is conveniently located off I-70, two blocks south of the Indiana Convention Center and footsteps from the new Lucas Oil Stadium - home of the Indianapolis Colts! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis City Centre offers a fresh decor with inviting rooms which were recently renovated in 2009. Upgrade to a romantic whirlpool room or a spacious suite with kitchenette. This downtown hotel offers affordable meeting space, indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, Suite Shoppe convenience store, and guest laundry facilities. A complimentary hot Express Start breakfast is available daily featuring signature cinnamon rolls and a rotating menu of hot items. Our attractive guest rooms include free high-speed Internet access and flat panel HDTVs with movie channels. Shuttle service is available in the immediate downtown area for a nominal fee, based on availability. The hotel is located 20 minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport. The 'Green Line' airport shuttle provides inexpensive door to door transportation. Affordable parking available on site. Enjoy our 100% Smoke Free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing