We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISASTER” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport

Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport
Ranked #137 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Trafford, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DISASTER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

By far, this was the worst experience with a hotel I've EVER had. Was greeted kindly, but was given a room in which the tv was on and the bed was not made, etc. Okay, so a miscommunication. I patiently waited behind another gentleman who was checking in. Once he was finished, I told the employee at the front what happened, and he gave me another room. I was somewhat excited because I was given a "suite" since that was all that was left. However, as I was about to leave for my new room, I noticed the gentleman that had checked in just a moment ago was also back, so I stayed to see if he had a similar problem. Turns out, when he opened his room, there was someone already inside that was "not happy to see him" (in his words) as I can quite imagine!!! Still, being the patient person I am, I drug my stuff up to the 2nd floor. I opened the door, and a smell hit my nose that was not pleasurable. I turned on the light, and there were towels on the floor of the bathroom, and a bed that had NO sheets/blankets. I turned around, closed the door, and told the employee at the front that I wanted to cancel my stay. He informed me that I could not cancel because I made the reservation through a 3rd party (which was actually choicehotels.com). Frustrated to no end, I told him I could not give this hotel my business, and that I was positive I would make a few phone calls and get my money back (which I did). Do NOT waste your time or money here. I was told that a maid must have quit on the job, but that does not explain the other customer's issue of walking in on someone. Can you imagine taking a shower, forgetting to lock the deadbolt, and having a tired family ready for some sleep walk in on you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    11
    14
    21
See reviews for
20
9
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is older and of course in some places presents an odd smell. The location is quite odd too but we managed to find it. Set aside these things and the hotel is improving little by little. The King Room we stayed in was decent and clean. It was also very quiet. The breakfast room was clean and offered a good a variety. If I had to, I would stay here again although it would not be my first pick .

Room Tip: I believe the 2nd floor is he most quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frugaltraveler7147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a excellent room with the bed we ordered. Good sleeping, great bed, excellent breakfast.
The hotel smelled good and had a fresh clean smell. So much better than the Econo Lodges we used the first 4 days of our 7 day trip. The laundry room was small but served the purpose. I only wish the dryer did a better job. I should not have taken me 2.5 hours to get one load washed and dryed. Washing only took 28 minutes the rest was drying time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I was willing to overlook the old decor, even the peeling wallpaper. We were traveling with a pet and wanted a first floor room with easy access. That is the extent of what we got here. The locking mechanism is completely missing from the side entrance. So much for security. The room did have a clean bed. I always check for bed bugs. None here, but that is the best thing I can say about the room. There was no hot water for a shower. Even after reporting this to the front desk, no hot water. The shower had two partially used bars of soap in it from previous "guests". So much for housekeeping. The water just sprayed from the sink faucet because the diffuser is missing from the faucet. Cheap rate. Should be! This place is bad.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nigmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Then lobby smelled like old/mothballs. Rude staff wouldn't honor our AAA discount. First room TV out, next room very dirty (pee on toilet, bed visibly soiled, hand soap opened and used). The staff person we encountered on checkout was apologetic and applied a discount to our stay but we won't ever be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Often, Quality Inns are nice, but not this one! It's old, needs updating and the room smelled bad, mildewy. Lots of stained walls and fixtures. Couple of restaurants in walking distance, and a few other hotel choices too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was not impressed with this hotel. Reception staff was the only exception to the extremely poor service and experience. The rooms were not as clean as they should be, the decor was in dire need of some updating. This hotel needs to be addressed by the Quality Inn Corporate Office!!! I will never stay, or make reservations for my group at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel is my best tip!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyofSpain321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
#73 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South
BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South
#76 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Indianapolis South
Courtyard Indianapolis South
#79 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#11 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport

Property: Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport
Address: 4345 Southport Crossings Way, Indianapolis, IN 46237-4648 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport is conveniently located off of I-65. Visit the Greenwood Mall, Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis Zoo, and Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Enjoy our newly renovated modern rooms and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indianapolis Quality Inn
Quality Inn Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing