We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
President Benjamin Harrison home — a very worthwhile visit.

The site was a wonderful history of the President and his family. Our tout guide, Mike, was... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2021
Chiph928
via mobile
Fantastic home and tour

I highly recommend! The tour was incredible and the guides well informed. The home has multiple... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2021
494sherrim
,
Tyler, Texas
via mobile
Read all 433 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Indianapolis
from $74.11
More Info
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
311
104
17
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
311
104
17
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide original furnishings carriage house president of the united states nice home president's home historical house great tour third floor history buff love history on display worth a stop well worth the visit gift shop civil war downtown indianapolis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 433 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Be aware there is very little else around the house so if you don’t have a car you will need to Uber it elsewhere.
However, our guide Gary was very interesting & informative.
The house is full of genuine presidential items & history: Mr Harrison certainly was more influential than we knew!
The exhibition of presidential satire in the red barn is also very entertaining.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

This is a great home tour. Benjamin served one term as the 23rd president of the United States from 1889 to 1893. He was a grandson of the ninth president, William Henry Harrison which created the only grandfather–grandson duo to have held the office. Another historical fact is that Benjamin served between the two terms of Grover Cleveland! His wife Caroline helped found the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) and served as its first President General. The house is full of these history lessons, as our docent Jayne meticulously tied in the history with the house. You start in the visitor center then walk around to the front of the house where you then tour all the rooms on three floors! Interesting to us was that the historical house marker at the front door entrance shows Caroline's DAR position above that of the President's! An elevator is available for those in need and photos are welcomed. Parking is tricky!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Disneybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

This is well worth the time. The home is beautiful, furnished with actual items belonging to the President and his family...not just replicas or other period items. Beautiful furniture, pianos, fireplaces, kitchen, china. Spectacular staircase. The tour guide and tour were excellent. Beautiful woodwork. Several “modern” conveniences were ahead of the times. We were there in early spring. The grounds were beautiful. The parking lot is quite small as are the crowds, so it’s probably not an issue.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 93KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Excellent tour guide, well informed, tour over 45 min and wanted longer. This has made me want to tour other presidental homes.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

As a native of Ohio, we consider Benjamin Harrison one of our own. He was born in his grandfather 's President William Henry Harrison's home in Ohio, went to school at Miami University in Oxford, and practiced Law in Cincinnati as well as in Indiana.
His 16 room Italianate home is very well cared for and contains many of the original furnishings as well as his law office furnishings. The hand carved bookcase is magnificent, and it was nice to see a cradle used by the family since his grand father's time. Benjamin was married twice. His second wife was his first wife's niece. as President he had the first White House Christmas tree and signed the Sherman Anti Trust Act.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews