We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in history”

Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site
Ranked #17 of 166 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stepping back in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at this particular presidential site. It's a lovely home, very well preserved, and the staff are exceptionally friendly and informative.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1horselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    70
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss visiting this home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Benjamin Harrison home is beautiful and so packed with history--you'll walk away knowing so much more about Benjamin Harrison and the Harrison family--a family that played important part in our country all the way back to the beginning of our nation. For those that enjoy beautiful historic homes, you will not be disappointed. A great deal of the furnishings and decorations are original to the house. We were surprised at all of the historic documents, books, and presidential memorabilia kept in the house. another great thing about this tour is that you get to see almost the entire house--main floor including the kitchen, bedrooms on the upper floor and even the third floor ballroom! The ballroom holds traveling exhibits--we saw a display of first ladies' gowns. At the end of the tour you get a chance to see a reconstructed carriage house which also holds a mini museum--displays on the women's suffragette movement.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming Little Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely tour of an obscure historical site. It's well maintained and gives you a great snapshot of middle gilded age America. Our guide, Mary, was delightful. Ask her about the history of Little Orphan Annie.

The site is right off I-65. It's worth a visit even if just passing through.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
414 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Be sure and get ready to wait around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

It doesn't open till 10 a.m. and then you have to pay $10/head and it you're not there on the hour or half hour, get read to wait around on the porch outside as there is no place comfortable to wait for the next tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Tour of a Lovely Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

While my husband and I were on vacation, we stopped in. So many items of the family are here on display. Many of Mrs. Harrison's dresses appear on mannequins throughout with original bedspreads, table linens, silver and silverware displayed in the dining rooms. The tour guides are knowledgeable about the family, the dates of incidents, and important little things about the family that bring them closer to us so many years later. Quite interesting. So many original artifacts to see. I can now imagine the family actually living there. Fascinating!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing