We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Definitely Worth Visiting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site

Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site
1230 North Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
317-631-1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 152 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth Visiting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you enjoy history, especially Presidential history, I think that you will really enjoy visiting this home. Having been to other Presidential homes, I was impressed that the furnishings actually belonged to the Harrison Family, not just time period pieces. Our tour guide was FANTASTIC! We took our two boys, ages 6 & 9, with us. The tour guide asked them questions throughout the tour and really made the tour interesting for them as well.
The home is absolutley beautiful. Normally, you may visit all three levels of the home, except the third level was closed when we visited due to an exhibit change. Our tour lasted approx. 45 minutes, including a walk across the yard to visit the carriage house, where another exhibit was held. There is a small gift shop inside the home. I thought that the items were reasonably priced. We all had a great time and learned alot of history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4320jdfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    59
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great home and Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautifully restored home of a former President. The staff was informative and our tour of this home was exceptional. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
301 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Well preserved 19th Century home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was interesting to learn how people lived during Benjamin Harrison's time. There were many Civil War items, a portrait of Benjamin's grandfather - President William Henry Harrison and a large amount of original furnishings. Small nice garden. Restrooms available.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pippadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good tour worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very informative, tour includes all three floors of home. Small fee to enter but worth it. Found out things about Harrison which I did not know

Helpful?
Thank madmax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour guide and gorgeous home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Despite living near Indianapolis all my life, I had never visited the Benjamin Harrison Home until this summer. One thing I should note right away is that Harrison actually preferred to be remembered for his role as a Civil War general, rather than his presidency--and the historical marker outside the home reflects that!

Our tour guide was delightful. She brought personal touches to seeing this home, and obviously enjoyed pointing out all the little details, like decorated coal scuttles (gotta love that Victorian aesthetic!) and the intricate woodwork in the home.

I would have liked a little more time to look at the exhibits on the top floor, but she probably would have let us linger if we'd asked. That was the only time we really felt a bit rushed. The gift shop is full of very nice souvenirs, including a great little booklet with details about Harrison's life and photos of the home. I had a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephcain76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing