We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very informative”

Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site
Ranked #17 of 166 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Most likely because it was July and hot has heck, but had a tour just for me with a most knowledgeable gentleman. Tour was an hour long! Well worth the $8!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kgallo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    70
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
392 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Gain a new appreciation for a President”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

One of the Indiana Landmarks historic properties, this is a well-maintained and managed historic site. Guides will give you a new appreciation for an often-overlooked President. It's a special treat when you see it decorated for the holidays.

Helpful?
Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Benjamin Harrison Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I want to recommend the Benjamin Harrison Home in Indianapolis. Recently my husband and I went to see this place. We visit many historical homes all over the country but I can say this was one of the best visits we ever had. The guide gave us a wonderful tour. Instead of the usual short visit to each room in the house she gave us the background of the family, shared a wealth of historical information she herself had gathered over her years of working there, and beautifully tied together the interesting events surrounding the time period and the extended family. The home is air-conditioned and very comfortable for a summer visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank candy6750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

It was very interesting to see his home and learn more about his life. The people were friendly and informative.

Helpful?
Thank RSAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing and knowledgeable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The tour is about an hour long and cannot enter the house until the tour is about to start, which is every half-hour. The tour guide seems very knowledgeable and very informative, but is a volunteer. I was able to understand what life was like in the late 1800’s. I learned a lot about who President Benjamin Harrison and his family were. There were a lot of original pieces. There is a temporary exhibit on the third floor and I felt rushed looking at that as well as the small gift shop. Other than that the length was good. I would not recommend this for young kids who don’t understand history; everyone should and will enjoy this place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank slu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing