We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Harrison State Park

Fort Harrison State Park
Ranked #47 of 156 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1700-acre park is chock-full of activities and history, housing a former World War II prisoner-of-war camp. Recreation includes fishing, bicycle trails, walking and jogging trails, horse trail rides and hayrides, picnicking and a nature center. Knowledgeable naturalists answer your questions and offer guided hikes and talks.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in a large 1 bedroom apartment and it was quiet and wonderful. The food was great too. It was too cold to golf so I will have to go when the weather is better.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Golf Course is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Golf Course is very good.. Pete Dye redesign and beautiful setting... lots of elevation changes and trees.... you need to hit the ball straight, but if you do, this is a fun course to play.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank paul30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were driving back from a concert in Louisville when we decided to take a few detours, and Fort Harrison was one of them. We were glad we stopped! It wasn't hard to find off the Indy loop. More than anything, I was quite surprised at the size of the park, seeing as it is located directly in the middle of a busy suburb. There was plenty to do, judging by the amount of people in the park. Jogging, biking, hiking, birdwatching... you name it, we saw it. Being kids at heart, we stopped at a playground at the foot of what looked to be an incredibly sledding hill in the winter and was quite pleased with the small but fun playground. I don't care how old you are-- there's a slide there that I think you need to experience. The walk up to the top is gorgeous, full of flowers and shrubbery with a nice area to sit, and the ride down the slide is just downright fun. The historical elements of the park are quite fascinating; there are a lot of interesting boards to read by the visitor's center. If you need a break from traveling, take a small detour off the loop and check out the park! It's worth the small price to get in!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dayafterxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mason,ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful day in a great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We loved our visit to this park. Where we live in Cincy you can't horseback ride for under $50 and Ft Harrison was $15. We loved the history and the scenery of this park. They are putting in a new slide and playground that was excellent and the trails were well shaded. Definitely recommend to a family that loves the outdoors!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kzdem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place for a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great place to run or walk your dog. Also has bike paths and a horse stable. There is also fishing as long as you have an Indiana fishing permit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Harrison State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Harrison State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing