We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon through the park.”

Fort Harrison State Park
Ranked #36 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1700-acre park is chock-full of activities and history, housing a former World War II prisoner-of-war camp. Recreation includes fishing, bicycle trails, walking and jogging trails, horse trail rides and hayrides, picnicking and a nature center. Knowledgeable naturalists answer your questions and offer guided hikes and talks.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Marathon through the park.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What could be more fun than a run in the woods? Great course through a beautiful facility.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank rpggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding was amazing on this 2.5 mile trip in the woods and across creeks!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I took the long 2.5 mile horseback trail ride. (They also povide a 1 mile trip.) There is an age limit of 6 years old but they have pony rides led by the parents for the youngsters. It took us up and down into the beautiful forest and across the creeks! Although the day was very hot, the trip on the horses was very cool once we got into the woods. The trail leader was very attentive to the group even stopping to help one of the riders that was a little leary of going into the creek with their horse. The horses are well taken care of and it is well worth your time to enjoy the park. We stopped for a cookout at one of their many off road picnic areas, too! There are many other attractions at Fort Harrison State park, check it out!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank pjih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, the ugly”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at the Col. Glenn house (one of the cottages on the property) in late July 2009. The house is spacious and includes a dining area, small breakfast nook, two sitting rooms, a formal dining room, living room and three furnished bedrooms. There is a separate unfurnished room that could be used as a fourth bedroom.

The good: the setting of the cottage is very nice, overlooking an open field surrounded by large trees. Parking is convenient, in a lot behind the cottage. The kitchen is adequately furnished with dishes and utensils for cooking. It is a short walk to the golf course clubhouse and you can sit on the porch overlooking the putting green if you get tired of staying inside the cottage. The cottage itself seemed clean, given its age.

The bad: ripped curtains, outdated bathrooms (chipped linoleum, old sinks), missing/torn screens in some windows.

The ugly: found leftover food in the microwave and a "fake" plastic cockroach in one of the kitchen cupboards.

Upon checkout, I told the desk clerk that I had some cocerns about the accomodations. I was (silently) handed a spiral notebook and was told to write my "concerns" down. No apologies, no "sorry your stay wasn't what you expected", not even a "thank you for staying with us." All in all, it was a disappointing stay, but it does have the potential to be a top rate destination...

Helpful?
6 Thank Weloveboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awsome Horseback Riding”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

This place has awsome horses. Their trail rides are beautiful. Will definately revisit the saddle barn. Staff is really nice and helpful.

Helpful?
5 Thank michiganhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice Mid-Winter Get Away”
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We stayed in the Major Suite at the Garrison House in Fort Harrison State Park in Lawrence, IN right outside of Indianapolis.
Our suite included a living room, bedroom, and large bathroom.
We took advantage of the February two-nights-for one special which was a total of $80 including tax. It was a great bargain. The Garrison House was military housing and still has that flavor. Our rooms were very clean and the housekeeper asked us every day if there was anything we needed. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant servers were friendly and helpful. (The restaurant is nothing special, but good traditional american cuisine that is filling. They do not serve breakfast, but there is a Panera & I-Hop very close.) Tthe grounds are very pretty. The golf course was closed for winter, but the hiking trails were open and very nice. The Harrison Trace Trail is a paved 2.75 mile walking trail through woods and around the small lake. Fort Harrison was a great mid-winter get away!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Harrison State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Harrison State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing